Gettin' fresh … in Northern Nevada

Tomatillo Chicken Chili and a Scorpion

Last week, when we went to Lattin Farms, I bought some of those beautiful tomatillos in the pictures.     I knew right away what I wanted to do with them.    Make CHILI!

Tomatillos are easy to deal with … you just peel, rinse and then boil them for a little bit to cook.    After they are sufficiently mushy, blend them up and you have a sauce!    I decided to get all creative and add some garlic as well as a jalapeno pepper to the mix.

Then, I put some leftover chicken (from that baked chicken the other day), a couple of cans of white beans and a little bit of chicken broth in my cute little orange crock pot with my tomatillo sauce.   This hot mess simmered up with a little bit of chili pepper flakes and cumin for a couple of hours into a very nice chili.

To finish, we add grated cheese, a dab of sour cream and some fresh salsa to the top.    OH, and don’t forget some tortilla chips to scoop it all up.    What a yummy lunch!

What about the scorpion?   Ya.   This was gross.   We found TWO different scorpions in the basement yesterday while I was doing laundry.    My husband has big feet–good for squishing scorpions.   YUCK!

11 responses

  1. Whoa, holy scorpion! My wife couldn’t handle living with scorpions, she’s deathly afraid. Mmmmm, that chicken chili looks delicious. I think leftover chicken is great in any type of soup. Great pics.

    September 30, 2012 at 6:37 pm

  2. I have always used tomatillos in salsa–great tip on the chili. The scorpions would definitely intimidate me!

    October 1, 2012 at 2:36 am

  3. I’ve never thought about chili for my tomatillos! I started getting them last summer in the new CSA and the rest went straight to the foodbank after a failed roasted tomatillo salsa attempt. Then I bought a jar of salsa verde to go with some tongue tacos I made in January, and this summer I put up salsa verde with Hatch peppers. But I got a few more in the box last week, and this chili looks good. Thank you!

    October 2, 2012 at 1:37 pm

  4. Yum! I love a good bowl of chicken chili. Now if I ever get the pleasure of fresh tomatillos in my box. Might not have the patience to wait around for them. Off to the Farmer’s Market we go!

    Thanks for sharing and linking up 🙂

    October 3, 2012 at 9:05 am

    • I bought those separate. And, it seemed weird to buy MORE veggies when I knew I had the CSA box. Funny, huh?

      October 3, 2012 at 9:06 am

  5. Pingback: What’s in the Box? #46 « In Her Chucks

Leave a Reply

