Gettin' fresh … in Northern Nevada

Crock Pot Cooking

The first sign of cooler weather at my house is the crock pot.   This cute little orange crock pot just oozes of the 70s is a solid piece of machinery.    It’s not huge and it doesn’t match anything in my house but I refuse to replace it.   The crock pot works like a champ.  Seriously, if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it.

So, what did I cook in this bad ass little orange crock pot?   Green beans with new potatoes and a ham hock, of course.    This is the recipe I blogged about earlier that reminds me of my Grammy.    She was from the south and that means there is a mandatory pork addition to every meal.   Bacon, bacon grease or just plain pork.    These beans qualify as southern food.   All you do is clean the beans, cut up some potatoes and a put a piece of ham hock in the cooker.   Add a little bit of water and leave them on low all day.

My son heard me say there was a ham hock in the beans and kept asking if we were having a “Mohawk” for dinner.   Eventually, I said, “Yes.”   If that makes him like the beans more, so be it.

I was feeling extra culinary today and added a whole baked chicken to the menu.    This is the easiest way to impress for dinner:  Garlic Baked Chicken.

Clean the chicken, put a whole bulb (ya, BULB that has been shelled), salt and pepper the outside and put it in the oven.   For my altitude and oven, the cooking time was about an hour and a half at 375 degrees.   The garlic give a nice savory addition to the chicken but doesn’t take over the flavor.   If you want, pluck the baked cloves out when the chicken is done and smear them on french bread.  Luscious.

 

15 responses

  1. Yummy! I love slow cooker recipes. And I LOVE your slow cooker!!!

    September 26, 2012 at 2:55 pm

  2. LOVE the crock pot!!

    September 26, 2012 at 3:01 pm

  3. I love crockpots. They make cooking so easy. Post lots of recipes please!

    September 26, 2012 at 5:01 pm

    • I was searching Pinterest today for inspiration … expect more appearances of the crockpot in the future.

      September 26, 2012 at 9:02 pm

  4. Sweet! Are you giving away these green beans too?

    Come and add your link to the party when you get a chance…http://inherchucks.com/2012/09/27/whats-in-the-box-45/.

    I’m totally drooling…

    September 27, 2012 at 9:44 pm

    • speaking of … did they survive transit? or did you get bean goo??

      September 27, 2012 at 10:08 pm

      • they are great! I sent you a Facebook message…did you get it?

        September 28, 2012 at 4:32 am

      • Nope. Just checked both Sharlea & Fresh Veggies. 😦

        September 28, 2012 at 4:13 pm

      • strange…ill check my outbox…

        September 29, 2012 at 11:10 pm

      • I sent it as a message to your Sharlea and it shows up in my outbox as sent…strange…either way they are amazing! Thanks 🙂

        September 29, 2012 at 11:12 pm

      • Glad you like them! I was worried they wouldn’t travel well.

        September 28, 2012 at 4:14 pm

      • They traveled beautifully! I am honored to be a recipient of your culinary excellence 🙂 Now if we can figure out how to send one of your amazing salads…

        September 29, 2012 at 11:10 pm

      • haha

        September 30, 2012 at 3:46 pm

Leave a Reply

