Gettin' fresh … in Northern Nevada

Oven-Dried Tomatoes

Not every recipe is a success.   And, not every failure is a total waste.    This recipe was an attempt to preserve tomatoes in a different way and, well, it kinda flopped.   I did manage to make the most of it but I don’t think I will be trying it again or recommending it.   Here’s to sharing my mistakes so you can learn from them to!

I had a decent size bag of not-so-perfect tomatoes that I didn’t want to let go bad and I decided to try oven-baking instead of sun-drying or dehydrating them.   Two reasons:   I don’t have a dehydrator and the sun-dried method seems like a challenge to keep the bugs out of your food.

So, here’s the instructions … cut up tomatoes and slow bake at a low temperature for as long as it takes to get the tomatoes dry with out burning them.   Not rocket science, but you do need to pay a little bit of attention to the baking in order to get the right balance of time and heat.

I think I burnt them a little bit but I’m hoping that the carmelization will taste good later.   Who knows?

Storage suggestions that I found online were just to keep the tomatoes in an air-tight container but I decided to take it another step.   I put these in a freezer bag and will cold store them because of the sticky texture.   I just think that will mold quickly if left at room temperature.   And, I don’t think it will make any difference if I have to chisel a frozen chunk off later.   Just my thoughts … have you tried this?   What was your experience?

 

7 responses

  1. I would say those are still edible 🙂

    Thanks for sharing and linking up!

    September 25, 2012 at 5:12 am

  2. I’m sure they are fine – just put them in a stew or chili or salsbury steak. Dehydrating is tricky in the oven. I got a dehydrator at a yard sale – it’s not very fancy but it does the job. Another way you could have stored them is to put in a jar and cover with olive oil. But you are totally correct – they would have molded quick stored at room temp. Love your blog! New follower here!

    September 25, 2012 at 8:27 am

    • Thanks for coming over to my blog! I forgot about olive oil. Duh. 🙂 Next time.

      September 25, 2012 at 3:14 pm

  3. Haven’t tried this before but have been meaning to. Thanks for this, now I know to be very careful with oven temp. My oven is soooo random it seems. I think those are totally edible, they don’t look too bad to me!

    September 25, 2012 at 11:31 pm

    • One of the other comments on this post was to put the tomatoes in olive oil to preserve them. I think that would work best if you decide to try it.

      September 26, 2012 at 1:55 am

      • Yes, excellent idea! That is how I like them when I buy them from the store 🙂

        September 26, 2012 at 3:02 am

  4. Pingback: What’s in the Box? #45 « In Her Chucks

Leave a Reply

