Gettin' fresh … in Northern Nevada

Chile Relleno Casserole

Just before dinner last night, I decided to be creative with the mini stockpile of peppers  going on in the crisper.    Not enough hot peppers to make something schnazy, not enough big peppers to stuff, just a mix of everything.  I wasn’t really sure where I was going and decided to spin the recipe roulette wheel for fun.
image

My good friend, Google, came to the rescue.   Seriously, what did people do before they had Google to bestow every bit of knowledge on them?   OH, ya.   I have a whole bookcase of cookbooks.   And, (SHOCKER!), I even remember encyclopedias … but, I digress … we were talking about peppers.

Google found a full list of pepper cooking ideas.   This one stood out to me today from The Pioneer Woman, Lazy Chiles Rellenos.   Take note:  The Pioneer Woman’s recipe has chiles from a can.   I have real chiles so I needed to figure out how to roast them first.   Google sent me here for instructions.

Great.  I’m prepared now.  Let’s do this!

Clean, seed and put ’em in the oven.
image

Then, there was this whole –keep an eye on them until they blister and then EASILY (liars!) pull the skins off– technique that is supposed to happen.    Put your blogging cameras down.   This is where you burn your fingers, end up with hot chile capsaicinoids in your eyes and curse the world.   Holy Scoville, my eyes were burning!    I almost gave up.   But, for the sake of the blogosphere, I’m still here documenting a near miss in dinner-time adventures.

For the record, I wasn’t really that successful getting all of the skins off of the peppers.   I went ahead and put them in the casserole anyway.   Dinner be damned, I’m eating these peppers!

Looky, looky!   It turned out OK.    Dinner was not ruined.   The casserole did actually taste like chile rellenos and wasn’t spicy hot.   I’m thinking that the cheater version with canned chiles is probably pretty good.   Plus, her recipe is definitely a lot easier.

And, thankfully, I opted for a sweet BBQ sauce on the chicken that I cooked to go with this lovely dish.    The sweet sauce on the chicken and the zip of the peppers balanced out just right.   Mmmm, mmmm good.

4 responses

  1. Nice pepper selection you’ve got there! Great pics. I’ve roasted many a chile and I can offer a bit of advice, 2 bits actually. First, If you use the broiler in your oven you can coat the peppers with a bit of oil for a more even burn, just be sure to keep an eye on them and turn them. Second is to put the charred chiles in a freezer bag or bowl covered with plastic wrap for about 20 minutes. This helps to steam the skins off the chiles and makes skinning them much easier. I use a fillet knife to scrape the burnt skin from the chile.

    September 18, 2012 at 9:39 pm

    • Good tips for next time. This was a total rookie, need to just get dinner on the table moment. It’s like Peppermeister Roulette with a 3 year old running through the kitchen yelling he’s hungry. haha

      September 18, 2012 at 10:06 pm

  2. Haha, I love the idea to look for a shortcut on chile rellenos, it’s a pain in the butt to make the traditional way, and not very healthy. I’ll have to send you my enchimales recipe. super easy and a lot of room for substitutions. P.S. Don’t let this get out, but I love those canned green chiles! Sliced up on some burgers or frozen pizza, it’s canned deliciousness.

    September 18, 2012 at 10:24 pm

Leave a Reply

