Gettin' fresh … in Northern Nevada

Apple Chips

There is a serious abundance of fruit at my house and I’m loving it.  But, it does require you to get creative so that the goods don’t go to waste.

This week’s fruit share had a  few apples in it and they were more the baking kind than the eating kind for me.   I like really snappy, crunchy apples.   The texture is crucially important to my apple enjoyment and I knew that these apples were not for just plain eating.   So, what to do?   What to do?

I already had big plans to bake up a big peach pie so … I mean … how much pie does a girl really need to eat in one week?

And, ta-da, I saw a clever idea while I was perusing the Linkup on InHerChucks by a new bloggy friend, CupKeiki.   This gal had a plan to make some apple chips.   Brilliant!   Here’s a link to her post and the recipe.

Now, I don’t recommend attempting this unless you have some free time.   It was pretty labor intensive and doesn’t really produce that much in results.   But, it was a fun food experiment while I was doing something else.   Here goes:

I used nine smallish apples for this adventure.

I also used the mandolin to slice the apples evenly.   Use this tool wisely.   I am rather clumsy and it is my most deadly utensil.   I love and hate this implement of destruction.    Today was a good day for mandolin usage.   All appendages still intact.   (yay!)

The apple slices soaked in spices for just a short bit and then I baked them in the oven at 375 for a thirty minutes.    I tried a couple varieties of slice thickness to test out cook times and it was a delicate balance of keeping the slices from sticking.  Too thin cooks too quickly, too thick is just soggy and gross.   There was a lot of oven opening and apple flipping going on in my kitchen.   But, the smell of apples baking was heaven.

End result:   one very small bowl of apple chips.   Tasty.   Crispy.   And, the apples didn’t go to waste.   I’m happy!

7 responses

  1. Yummy! They look great! I’ll have to keep this in mind after we go apple picking in a few weeks… after we’re all pied out. 🙂
    Thanks for sharing!

    ~alli

    September 17, 2012 at 4:32 pm

  2. I wanted to make those chips too! Delish…

    Got the apples…all I need is a mandolin…

    Going for a record link up this week? http://inherchucks.com/2012/09/13/whats-in-the-box-43/.

    September 17, 2012 at 7:23 pm

  3. Love the idea of these! You know two years ago I went chip crazy and made squash chips and eggplant chips, etc… I forget about fruit too.

    September 18, 2012 at 1:35 pm

    • I have given up on the ughplant. I gave away two bags last week! You are a much better sport than I am about it. That’s pretty creative. 🙂

      September 18, 2012 at 4:14 pm

  4. These apple chips look great. I could definitely snack on some of those right now! I can’t wait to get some apples so I can do this!

    September 22, 2012 at 2:24 am

Leave a Reply

