Gettin' fresh … in Northern Nevada

Summer CSA, Week Ten

The evenings are getting cooler and that autumn feeling is starting to creep in on us here in Northern Nevada.   But, the summer harvest is still happening.   Just check out this week’s haul of CSA goodies:

image

This week, the box was full of summer squash, ughplant, peppers, cucumbers, a Tuscan melon (looks like cantaloupe to me), garlic, raspberries, tomatoes, chives, grapes (!!!) and new potatoes.

The fruit share is HUGE.   Apples, plums, peaches, pears and nectarines.   Wow.

image

What are these?   I love the colors that you get from different varieties of heirloom tomatoes.   These are more purple in person but I think you can see my point.

image

Grapes, grapes, grapes!    They are perfectly cute, tiny little globes of freshness.   Yum.

image

Don’t forget about the giveaway.   Today is the last day to enter!  What??  You missed this POST about pickled purple green beans?  CLICK on over and read all about it.

10 responses

  1. VERY jealous of your nectarines…our season is long gone here 😦

    September 15, 2012 at 8:55 am

    • The farm sent out an email the other day and we are going to get pears forever … and possibly more nectarines next week. lucky me

      September 15, 2012 at 8:52 pm

  2. ps: come and link up to this week’s party when you get a chance…http://inherchucks.com/2012/09/13/whats-in-the-box-43/. Looking forward to seeing you there!

    September 15, 2012 at 8:55 am

    • You don’t mind that I will have THREE links on this week?

      September 15, 2012 at 8:52 pm

      • The more the merrier! I think that makes you a CSA rockstar 🙂

        September 16, 2012 at 3:34 am

  3. Oh wow! I’m jealous of your fruit share. It looks incredible. And I feel you on “ughplant.” It’s not my favorite either, but I’m finding ways to somewhat enjoy it. Most of them involve salting it to draw out the bitterness and then cooking with a hefty amount of olive oil.

    September 18, 2012 at 12:21 am

    • I’m OK with eggplant grilled but … bleh for having it all of the time. 🙂

      September 18, 2012 at 3:02 am

  4. First of all – I am super jealous of your fruit share. It looks amazing!

    Second, I’m really glad I read the comment above before I posted, because I was going to ask what “ughplant” was, and then I would have felt ridiculous (<– obviously not because I'm writing this anyway).

    September 19, 2012 at 2:08 am

    • Thank you. And, maybe, I should link back when I use ‘ughplant’ in the future … I’m pretty new to all of this, too. 🙂

      September 19, 2012 at 4:46 am

Leave a Reply

