Gettin' fresh … in Northern Nevada

Super Silly Veggies

Well, apparently, I have been veggie-obsessed for years now and didn’t even know it.

A VERY long time ago, in a land far, far away, I had a completely different job and there was a food-subsidy program involving healthy meal plans for families.  Some of the incentives for the families were these extremely cute stuffed animal/fruits and vegetables.   I collected them all.   I kept them in my office forever and, when life changed, I stored them away because I couldn’t let them go.


My three year old has seen them several times and begged and begged and begged (and BEGGED!) for me to let him have them.    Well, today, I gave in and got them all down for him.   He loved it!

There is a squash, garlic, mushroom, broccoli, watermelon, orange … OMGawd … there’s even an EGGPLANT!    There is celery, onion, grapes, corn, lemon and a strawberry.   And, more … too many to list!   They all have silly names and are adorable.

I guess we have always loved our fruits and veggies here in the desert!

Don’t forget about the giveaway.   What??  You missed this POST about pickled purple green beans?   Don’t worry–there’s still time to enter.   CLICK on over and read all about it.

3 responses

  1. These are freaking amazing! What a fun way to play with your food 🙂

    September 13, 2012 at 8:41 am

    • I just thought it was hilarious that my little dude wanted them so bad. Kinda cute that he knows all of his veggies so well.

      September 13, 2012 at 12:47 pm

      • he knows what’s cool 🙂

        September 14, 2012 at 1:27 am

Leave a Reply

