Gettin' fresh … in Northern Nevada

Baked Butternut Squash Fries

We love burgers and fries at our house.   Grillin’ is one our favorite things.   And, while I’m no stranger to a bag of Ore-Idas, we like to bake potato fries in the oven instead of frying them.   That’s why when I thought about roasting up some butternut squash I thought it would be pure GENIUS to make fries out the squash.

Fries out of squash?   That’s just crazy talk!   Those couldn’t be good OR … could they?

Thank goodness for Google because I found this blog post from The Urban Poser all about it.   This gal gave some great instructions and serious french fry advice.   And, she was right about getting the moisture out of the squash.   This is important.   Salt them and let them sit for as long as you can.   They are chuck full O’ water.

I cut my pretty little butternut baby in thirds.   If you look closely at that first picture, you can tell where I cut because I forgot to take a ‘before’ picture and tried to cheat.   It seemed like a waste to not use the bottom section of the squash but that is totally where all of the seeds are and I couldn’t see trying to make something out of it today.

Then, I cut the mid-section into the standard french fry shape and set them out on a cookie sheet.   This is the salt and let them sweat it out on a paper towel process.   I had some a ton of free time today so I let them sit for three hours.   They were still pretty heavy and took a long time to cook.   (just something you might want to know if you try this)

I baked them for about 30 minutes at 400 degrees and then broiled them on high at the finish to get some  extra crunch happening.   Steam billowed out of the oven vent the entire time they were cooking.

It was sooooooooo worth it.   These are ab-so-freakin-lutely  AWESOME!

They taste great by themselves but I tried dipping in both ranch and BBQ sauce as taste samples and I have to say that it was a nice flavor either way.   The roasted squash has so much more savoy goodness than a potato.   It was even a better fry than the sweet potato variety.   Really.

Now, just to set the record straight, no squash is stealing the special place in my heart that real, deep fried, extra salty fries have … but, this is a good food experiment for a nice burger meal at home.   Yum-O!

 

15 responses

  1. Wow! I absolutely love butternut squash but I never thought of preparing it this way. I will definitely be trying this with my first delivery of butternut squash. Thanks for sharing 🙂

    Will you be adding these to #43?

    September 12, 2012 at 3:07 am

    • Hee hee. You have me completely figured out. And, I’m not the only one who waits … there were several others that beat me to the punch this week!

      September 12, 2012 at 3:20 am

      • oh man! Got to work on those cat like reflexes…

        September 12, 2012 at 4:12 am

  2. I have done this with sweet potatoes and yams before, but not squash. I will be trying this for sure when I get my first squash. Have you tried it with other types of winter squash?

    September 12, 2012 at 5:42 am

  3. What a great idea! I’ve never seen this done before!

    September 12, 2012 at 1:41 pm

  4. Kalli and Bill

    i want!

    September 12, 2012 at 6:01 pm

  5. That looks great! I would never have thought to make fries out of squash.

    September 19, 2012 at 2:16 am

  6. Yum. I have a butternut squash from an earlier CSA. I was wondering what to do with it. You just gave me my inspiration.

    This weekend there will be fries and burgers.

    September 19, 2012 at 10:53 pm

    • Enjoy! They take a little bit longer to cook than you would expect but are well worth it.

      September 20, 2012 at 2:54 pm

  7. Melissa

    Thanks so much for sharing this! I can’t wait to try it.

    September 24, 2012 at 7:03 pm

    • I can’t wait to get more squash in the CSA box so I can do it again. yum.yum.yum

      September 24, 2012 at 10:56 pm

Leave a Reply

