Gettin' fresh … in Northern Nevada

Eggplant Parmesan with Garlic Roasted Tomato Sauce

Oven roasted tomatoes with fresh garlic.   The carmelization that happens with a little bit of olive oil and garlic is a wonderful thing.   The house smelled like heaven when it was cooking.    At the time, I saved this in a cute little jar and didn’t know what I was going to do with it.   I love a good tomato sauce so I knew it wouldn’t last long.

Then, this week’s veggie box had a new load of ughplant in it and I thought I would give it another try.   I decided to make this is an all or nothing effort to test my dislike of this horrible vegetable.   All or nothing — good sauce, good noodles, good cheese, good preparation.    I did a baked eggplant parmesan with panko italian breadcrumbs.   The whole nine yards.

I soaked the eggplant in salt water and attempted to get as many seeds out as possible.   This is supposed to help with the bitterness.   It does not change the texture.

Dipping stations to bread the eggplant.   Fancy panko crumbs with a full load of dried Italian herbs for flavor.   I carefully baked the eggplant to make sure they were crisp on both sides and delicately done.   This was successful.  And, quite beautiful.

Finished plate with my yummy garlicy sauce and my favorite fettuccine noodles that I get from the cool Italian market.   Supposedly, these noodles are handmade.   They taste silky and perfect every time.

Final verdict:   Ughplant sucks.   I hated it.   I picked off the bread crumbs and just ate the noodles.   Bleck.  Pooey.  OMGross.

NO more eggplant for me.   Do you want it?   Free eggplant to anyone (local) that I can give it to!   Come and get it!

Don’t forget about the giveaway.   What??  You missed this POST about pickled purple green beans?   Don’t worry–there’s still time to enter.   CLICK on over and read all about it.

Leave a Reply

