Gettin' fresh … in Northern Nevada

Fresh Salsa

The canning and preserving continues in my kitchen.   Today is all about tomatoes.   I love salsa so I used a mix of tomatoes with fresh cilantro, jalapenos and a white onion.

This was the first time I have blanched tomatoes in a while and it was a lot easier than I remember.   I don’t know why I was freaked about it actually.   Boil water, dip in ice water and done.

The trick to this was making an X on the tomato and coring out the top a little bit.

Boil about 15-30 seconds.

Ice bath.

The skins just came right off — easy.

mmmm … spicy

Viola!   A big batch of salsa!    I am going to eat some of it right away and put the rest in a big jar for later.  Why don’t you bring some chips and join me?

6 responses

  1. Coming with some chips!!! This looks amazing!! Amazingly fresh and colourful looking. Beaut! I could eat this right now.

    September 10, 2012 at 1:08 am

  2. Fresh salsa is a hit in this house, too! Looks fantastic! My mouth is watering… 🙂

    Alli

    September 10, 2012 at 1:10 am

  3. How about I make some chips? This looks delish! But can you make a non-spicy version for me. I am a bit of a wimp 🙂

    September 10, 2012 at 1:58 am

Leave a Reply

