Gettin' fresh … in Northern Nevada

Summer CSA, Week Nine

This week’s haul of goodies was so big and heavy that I actually used a cart to carry it to the car.   I don’t know why but I thought it was a little embarrassing.   That’s totally silly.   This was a big load of stuff!   Seriously, look at it:

What’s in that silly cart?   This week’s contents are:

  • Snow leopard melon  (A new one to me.   I wonder what it is going to be like?!)
  • Watermelon
  • Tomatoes
  • Summer squash
  • Eggplant
  • Peppers
  • Armenian Cucumbers
  • Beets
  • Butternut squash
  • Raspberries
  • Basil

AND, the fruit share has pears, peaches, nectarines and plums!    They are beautiful.   I love the rainbow of colors going on in this box.   Is it weird that I almost feel greedy having gotten this much fruit?

Don’t forget about the giveaway.   What??  You missed this POST about pickled purple green beans?   Don’t worry–there’s still time to enter.   CLICK on over and read all about it.

7 responses

  1. WOW just look at that box of fruit! So jealous!!!

    September 7, 2012 at 12:21 pm

  2. OH and I’m curious about the snow leopard melon and what you do with it. I have a delicata squash sitting in the fridge, no idea what that will be like either!

    September 7, 2012 at 12:24 pm

  3. I love how your box screams “Summer”. It’s spring here and my CSA needs to catch up! Stone fruits….mmmm…I haven’t had one in a long time.

    September 9, 2012 at 9:01 pm

    • It is completely summer fruits right now! And, believe me, the peaches are FANTASTIC!

      September 9, 2012 at 9:57 pm

      • We have lots of citrus at the moment. I guess I should embrace it.

        September 9, 2012 at 10:09 pm

      • That’s ‘sport’ of CSA. Eating what’s in season. 🙂

        September 9, 2012 at 11:06 pm

Leave a Reply

