Gettin' fresh … in Northern Nevada

Bleu Cheese Chicken with Spinach and Grilled Pears

About a week ago, I asked the blogosphere for help with ideas for pears.   Man, oh, man.   In Her Chucks delivered.   This girl knows what I like and suggested that I try one of her standby favorites from Whole Foods.   It’s actually called Baked Chicken with Spinach, Pears and Bleu Cheese.   The original recipe can be found HERE.

As always, there was a reason for me to not follow the recipe.   I had a bag of frozen, skinless chicken breasts from Costco.   They don’t recommend that you thaw them out before cooking and that wasn’t the way the recipe called for chicken to be cooked.   I did a pan sear as instructed in the recipe and then let them cook covered in the skillet on the stove.   I just wanted to make sure the chicken was cooked all the way through because I wasn’t sure about baking.   Otherwise, I’m pretty close on the recipe.   I don’t know why I can’t just follow instructions.   Ask my friends and family, this is how I am all of the time.

Either way, this recipe is bomb-diggity good.   As in, we will be having it again in a couple of days while I still have fresh pears.   Wowzers!    The combination of sweet pears with salty bleu cheese is superb.   I like spinach quite a bit and the chicken flavor from the pan dripping is perfect to cook them.   The chicken was moist and tender.   It was dinner done right.

I added a pre-made  chicken flavored rice for the side dish.   It is one of those packaged things but complimented the meal nicely for a good starch.    (Insert whatever side dish works for you … this was just a quickie item.)

The CSA box this week provided the pears and this lovely parsley.   The red onion is from the regular store.

This picture was supposed to show how pretty the spinach was in the pan.  And, it was right before I managed to fling rice all over the kitchen.   Chaos ensued.   There was a small rice fire.   Not.  Exaggerating.

I am still infatuated with grill marks.   I don’t think that is going to change anytime soon.

And, the final plate.   It took every bit of willpower for me to take this picture because all I wanted to do was eat.   My husband thinks I’m nuts for photographing every single thing in the kitchen.   I tell him that he should be happy that the expensive DSLR gets so much use.

 

 

 

 

 

19 responses

  1. so glad you liked it! Now I want some…here’s to wishing for pears 🙂

    ps: come and link up when you get a chance…http://inherchucks.com/2012/08/30/whats-in-the-box-41/. Looking forward to seeing you there!

    September 5, 2012 at 6:27 am

    • Since it’s Wednesday, I’m going to wait for Box 42 and link up on that one … if you don’t mind. 🙂

      September 5, 2012 at 3:11 pm

    • Since it’s Wednesday, I’m going to wait for Box 42 and link up on that one … if you don’t mind. 🙂 OH–I saw an email from my CSA that there are more pears coming this week. Too bad you aren’t close enough to share some!

      September 5, 2012 at 3:12 pm

      • No problem at all! Maybe you will get first spot 🙂

        September 5, 2012 at 4:03 pm

  2. Yum! I’m not a fan of bleu cheese myself buy everything else looks amazing! We do something similar on the grill with chicken breast, goat cheese and mango! It’s kind of got that same sweet/savory vibe to it.
    Thanks to you both for sharing!
    ~alli
    wwwbiggreenparentingexperiment.com

    September 6, 2012 at 1:42 am

  3. That looks gorgeous. It has all of my favorite flavors.

    September 6, 2012 at 9:35 pm

  4. This is rocking, I am totally going to try this! Too bad its so impossible to find organic pears here 😦 Love the combination of sweet and salty, and I looooooove bleu cheese!!!

    September 7, 2012 at 12:20 pm

  5. Southern Canada (Ontario), but I can’t find an organic pear for the life of me… there are non-organic ones though…

    September 7, 2012 at 9:10 pm

  6. Yum! This looks (and sounds) amazing!

    September 10, 2012 at 1:46 pm

  7. I love the combination of pears and blue cheese. Sometimes I sprinkle a little honey and some walnuts of them and call it a salad.

    September 11, 2012 at 1:57 am

  8. Pingback: What’s in the Box? #43 « In Her Chucks

Leave a Reply

