Gettin' fresh … in Northern Nevada

CSA Summer Basket Week 8 and a Fancy Dinner

I love CSA day.   I love the volunteer that works at my pick up spot.  She is mega-super-awesome-nice and I look forward to chatting with her every week.   And, I love just anticipating what goodies will be in the CSA box.   I can honestly say that I have had a really good time in my CSA adventure so far.   My family likes veggies.   We love fruit.   And, while we probably would have bought most of the stuff that was in the boxes anyway, I have had a lot of fun finding new recipes, eating fresher food and feeling like the money that I have spent went to the LOCAL economy.   I’m lovin’ it!

Don’t you agree?   (I’m sure you are all just waiting for Thursday every week and wondering what my next blog post will be.  I’m just certain of it!  haha)   Seriously, though, if you are not on the CSA bandwagon and there is the opportunity to sign up in your future … DO IT.   Do it NOW!   Really.

So, what did I get?  This week’s share included cantaloupe, watermelon, bell peppers, summer squash, ughplant, tomatoes, cucumbers, raspberries (mmmmm), beets (yay!), parsley, and two different kinds of green beans.

The fruit share included mostly pears with a sprinkle of peaches.  It was a huge box.  Aren’t they pretty?

That is a serious load of food.   I joked that last week’s box was super heavy to carry to the car.   This week’s was heavier.   If this pattern continues, I will have to use a cart to push it out into the parking lot.   Geesh!   (And, YAY all at the same time.)

I promised some fancy dinner photos as well … the hubby and I were home alone last night.  (OMG)  The little dude spent the night with Grandma and (I’m sure) played Angry Birds all night long.   For us, it was date night!   We were actually allowed to enjoy a meal without the constant interruption of a 3 year old.   So, we enjoyed a nice bottle of wine:

And, we grilled some flank steak that my sweetie marinated in his secret soy sauce combo.   I added the veggies and a pear for fun.

I love grill marks on your food.   I don’t know why.

The pears were extra yummy grilled.  I think I have a new obsession with grilled fruit.   And, I have a serious excess of pears this week.   Anyone have some good pear recipes that they would like to share?

I’ll be linking up on In Her Chucks for the blog party, check it out HERE.   And, I’ll see you there!

 

 

7 responses

  1. Looks like you had a GREAT dinner…jealous of your “alone” time. 😉 Thanks for sharing!

    August 31, 2012 at 10:39 pm

    • What is funny is that my husband suggested that I post our dinner pictures … I think he had a inner blogger. haha

      September 1, 2012 at 2:03 pm

  2. I’m with the little green playpen…totally jealous of your alone time. Harper’s grandma lives in ireland. kind of far for a spen-da-night…

    let’s see…pears…I usually eat them as is. though i always peel them because depending not the variety the skin can sometimes be a bit bitter and rough. They are always delish in a salad (and we all know you are the salad queen!) with some candied nuts and simple vinaigrette and sharp cheese. i remember trying this recipe when I was in college (on one of the very rare occasions that I cooked). My roommate was very impressed. http://www.wholefoodsmarket.com/recipes/991.

    Good luck!

    September 1, 2012 at 6:18 am

    • I was totally going to go the salad route. I love pears and cheese. I was even thinking pears and cottage cheese for breakfast. And, I’m making the hubs go to Whole Foods this weekend. I don’t always shop there but when I want fancy cheese or fru-fru stuff, it is sooo good there. And, $$$$.

      September 1, 2012 at 2:07 pm

      • Whole Foods is great for fru-fru stuff 🙂

        September 1, 2012 at 5:17 pm

  3. Wow, I can hardly even remember what it’s like to eat a meal without a 3 year old’s constant interruptions. How lovely! 🙂 I love these baked pears: http://emmycooks.com/2012/05/05/hazelnut-baked-pears/, and if one gets too soft I really like this pear-based salad dressing: http://emmycooks.com/2012/01/22/creamy-pear-vinaigrette/. If you have Anna Thomas’s Love Soup book, I love her butter cake made with pears. And if you really have a ton of them, we’ve had great luck canning them in a light vanilla syrup and using them in desserts in winter–yum!

    September 3, 2012 at 5:39 am

Leave a Reply

