Gettin' fresh … in Northern Nevada

Purple Basil, Tomato and Cucumber Salad

I haven’t had a good salad post in a while now, have I?   Just because we haven’t been getting as many greens in the CSA box doesn’t mean I haven’t been making them.   I just haven’t posted about them.

The purple basil that was in the CSA box is divine.   Not wonderful, not beautiful but the stuff that makes you float on air.   I almost wish I could buy an air freshener that is basil scent to put in my car.   I love the smell of this stuff.    And, really, how many purple herbs are there out there?   Seriously?    Look at this!

I thought I would just share a quick (almost) recipe for one of my favorite side salads:

Basil, finely chopped

Tomatoes, diced

Cucumber, peeled, sliced and seeded

A little bit of sea salt

A light dose of extra virgin olive oil

TONS of balsamic vinegar (OK.   Maybe not TONS.   That’s just how I like it.)

I ate the finished product.   No photo proof.   This was just a quick post to show you how the freshies are getting devoured.

 

p.s. options for making this a more meal-type salad include adding some feta cheese and kalamata olives … and grilled/shredded chicken.

 

6 responses

  1. …tried growing some ordinary basil myself in an empty yoghurt pot….seeds popped up ok but the plants died out after couple weeks…maybe no likey englandey….:(

    August 26, 2012 at 8:40 am

  2. I’d like to try that variety of Basil.

    August 26, 2012 at 2:26 pm

  3. Melissa

    I love basil, and I’ve never seen/tasted purple basil! It’s gorgeous! And I’m totally on board for the basil-scented air freshener. You invent it, I’ll buy it.

    August 30, 2012 at 1:14 am

Leave a Reply

