Gettin' fresh … in Northern Nevada

Summer CSA Week Seven

It’s Thursday and you know what that means, right?   It’s Fruits and Veggies Box Day.   Quite a haul this week, I must say.   It was super heavy to carry to the car.   (or I’m totally out of shape … maybe, both)

Here’s my loot for this week:

Cantaloupe, Watermelon, Honeydew (I think?), (OMG) Raspberries!, Summer Squash, Cucumbers, Jalapenos, Romanian Peppers, Bell Peppers, Eggplant/Ughplant, Tomatoes (Red and Green), Purple Basil and Mixed Purple/Green Beans

I will be fighting my son for these raspberries, I am sure of it.   I need to learn how to share better.

And, for the additional fruit share, more peaches and pears!   Mmmmm.   I see a peach cobbler in my future.   Any suggestions for tons of pears?

I’m thinking the meal plan for this week will definitely include some fried green tomatoes and a basil/tomato/cucumber salad.

I might try Ughplant Parmesan.   Or, I might just give the eggplant to some other deserving soul.   We’ll see how adventurous  I get.   Wish me luck!

3 responses

  1. Raspberries? Heavenly gems 🙂

    Thanks for linking up!

    August 24, 2012 at 4:27 pm

  2. The berreis look good…you would be fighting us for them, too!

    August 24, 2012 at 4:56 pm

Leave a Reply

