Gettin' fresh … in Northern Nevada

The Eggplant Challenge, Part II

Thank you for all of your wonderful suggestions for eggplant.   My last post was a cry for eggplant help and I got tons of good ideas.   Click HERE to catch up if you missed it.

OK, that being said, I made an honest effort to try this whole eggplant experiment again.   I really, really did.   And, I have to report that is was just ‘eeeh.’    It’s official.  I’m not a fan of eggplant.   Future receipts of eggplant in the CSA box are going to be donated to a worthy cause (friend/whatever).   Eggplant is not horrible.   It’s just not my thing.

At any rate, here’s what I did with it:   Ratatoille Casserole (Sorta)

image

These are all of the extra veggies from my fridge.    I didn’t end up chopping them all up but I grabbed a little bit of everything to have a better variety in the meal.

image

I took everyone’s advice and did a little salt bath for the eggplant.   It is supposed to help if your eggplant gets bitter or there are a lot of seeds.   (I still think that eggplant doesn’t really taste like anything and has a weird texture.   My opinion.)

I also had some leftover chicken that I shredded up for the casserole and I added some rice for a starch in the dish.   I was desperate and covered the whole thing with a monster sized can of cream of mushroom soup.   (Thank goodness I did — that was the only saving grace to the meal for me.)

image

image

Overall, the casserole wasn’t bad.   It was just a mediocre mid-week meal.   Boring–Bleh.   And, I found myself picking out the eggplant so I’m thinking I should just skip that part in the future.

So, who wants my extra eggplant??

 

9 responses

  1. I am not a huge fan of eggplant, but I can tolerate it. Like your effort of creativity. We can’t all LOVE everything 🙂

    Come and link up your recipe to this week’s party when you get a chance…http://inherchucks.com/2012/08/15/whats-in-the-box-39/. Hope to see you there!

    August 22, 2012 at 4:32 pm

  2. I like eggplant, but everyone is different and some things you do need to compost. Even in my 18th year of doing CSAs, I still compost the fennel (or now I can feed it to the Guinea Pigs) Over time I grew better at using kale, cucumbers and prodigious quantities of Swiss Chard so keep trying as time and energy permit. But there was lots of composting before I got there!

    August 23, 2012 at 4:29 pm

  3. Melissa

    I understand completely. I usually have sort of a “meh” attitude toward eggplant – unless it’s fried! This summer I tried breading and baking eggplant (and squash as well) to be a bit healthier. It turned out great!

    My recipe is here: http://lettuceneversquashourlove.wordpress.com/2012/08/01/a-tribute-to-county-fair-fried-veggies/

    August 30, 2012 at 1:21 am

    • Melissa

      Whoops! Totally forgot you’ve already seen this recipe – sorry! If you do decide to fry or bake eggplant, it helps to slice it really thin, espesially if it’s the texture that bugs you.

      By the way, your pictures are beautiful!

      August 30, 2012 at 1:29 am

    • I tried squash with your recipe and loved it. I will give the ughplant another chance … maybe.

      August 30, 2012 at 3:17 pm

Leave a Reply

