Gettin' fresh … in Northern Nevada

Dill Pickles and Some Carrots, Too!

My husband was feeling left out because all of the refrigerator pickles that I have made to this point have been bread and butter style.   So, today was dedicated to DILL.

I tried to follow this recipe HERE but it was in completely different measurements so it’s going to be a crap shoot to see if I did it right.   I’ll wait until they are taste tested by the Dill Connoisseur and let you know later.   Either way, they looked and smelled good.

Then, I totally lost my mind.   I just pickled the biggest jug of carrots I have ever seen.   What was I thinking?   WELL … I was thinking that I have a ton of big carrots that aren’t quite as tasty as the baby carrots that I was loving in the spring CSA subscription and I didn’t want them to go to waste.  And, I love pickled stuff.   Seems like a match made in heaven, right?  I really like the pickled carrots and jalapenos that they always have out on the salsa bar at Mexican restaurants.   And, we are planning another camping trip in a couple of weeks so (worse case scenario) we can snarf these guys up with bloody marys around the campfire one morning.

If you would like the recipe that I started with and (of course) modified:  click THIS.

I peeled and cut the carrots into pretty little sticks.   This requires a lot of patience.   Really.

Then, everything was layered into the huge pickle jar that I kept for no reason until now.

Isn’t this pretty?  Now, all I have to do is let the vinegar do it’s magic.   Patience, patience, patience.   Maybe, I’ll test them in a couple of days just to be sure.

This jug o’ Bugs Bunny treats is gigantic!

4 responses

  1. Wow, that IS a huge pickle jar! I hate chopping carrot sticks, it is a ton of work!

    August 7, 2012 at 2:38 am

    • It is a Vlasic pickle jar and it has a cool design on the outside of it. I just couldn’t throw it away.

      August 7, 2012 at 2:05 pm

  2. Yum! I’m going to spend the morning making dilled carrots and dilled beans. I just discovered dilled carrots last year and absolutely love them!

    August 12, 2012 at 4:13 pm

    • These are going on a camping trip with us next weekend. I think they will be a big hit!

      August 12, 2012 at 11:52 pm

Leave a Reply

