Gettin' fresh … in Northern Nevada

Did You Know Broccoli Needs to Breathe?

Summer CSA Week #4

Holy Hot August Nights.   It is too warm outside.  Summer is definitely here.   Let’s see what they have been growing out in Fallon:

That’s a pretty beautiful bounty, isn’t it?

This week’s box of garden goodness from the desert includes:

an arava melon (that cantaloupe looking thing), slicing cucumbers, a mini-peck or plethora of peppers (I like alliteration.  Sue me.), sweet corn, patty pan summer squash (I started to rhyme with the peppers on this one but decided that was just silly.), cherry tomatoes, red slicing tomatoes, mixed Japanese eggplant (no clue what that means–mixed?  They look the same to me.), parsley, lettuce (perfect for decorating a sandwich), carrots, broccoli and a yellow doll watermelon (if you have been paying attention to my other posts, go ahead and assume that I will eat this for dinner.  By. My. Self.)   This week is an off week (there are two) for the full fruit shares so the watermelon and arava melon are part of the regular share.

My husband loves corn.   These wonderful ears of summer didn’t even make it into the house before he was scooping them up to put them on the grill.   They were tasty-licious good.    I like them plain.   He likes a lot of butter and does this to it.  I am posting this picture just for InHerChucks.   See?

Either way, the corn was good.

At any rate, while I was typing this post and thinking of a wonderful corn-related titles or witty corn things to say, I read the ‘instructions’ for this week’s CSA loot.

“Note–We have bagged the broccoli for travel.  Once you get home, remove from bags, allow to breathe in the refrigerator.”

Panic!  I was a bad broccoli owner and foolishly just shoved the broccoli into the fridge.   Was it suffocating?   I ran downstairs and poked a big hole in the bag.   Whew.   That was a close one.

Then, I closed the refrigerator door.

Wait …

Oh, well.

9 responses

  1. I did not know that about broccoli.

    August 3, 2012 at 3:04 pm

  2. Every time I’ve left broccoli in the fridge not in a bag it wilts right away. But I did just read from another blogger that you can put the stalk in water and it will perk right back up!

    August 4, 2012 at 1:24 am

    • Good to know! I think that is going to be helpful for the bad broccoli owners out there (like me). 🙂

      August 4, 2012 at 5:42 pm

  3. Oh sweet butter! Thanks for sharing…and linking up!

    August 4, 2012 at 3:34 am

  4. Melissa

    All summer I have at least one stick of butter in my fridge that looks just like that! Glad to know I’m not the only one…

    August 4, 2012 at 12:10 pm

    • LOL — I am not going to tell my hubby that one. I don’t want him thinking there is a butter society out there that he needs to be the KING of or anything. 🙂

      August 4, 2012 at 5:44 pm

  5. LOL – i didn’t know that broccoli need to breathe either. Looks like i am a bad broccoli owner too. At least i eat it though – that’s got to count for something, right?

    August 6, 2012 at 3:01 am

Leave a Reply

