Gettin' fresh … in Northern Nevada

Pinterest Recipe Time

I freakin’ love Pinterest.   I won’t believe you if you tell me you have never been on there.   But, just in case, wait until after you read this post.   Otherwise, you won’t find your way back here for several days.   It is crazy addictive.   Seriously.

I have found all kinds of crafties, photo inspiration, general words of wisdom, seriously funny junk and, most of all, TONS OF GREAT RECIPES!

Here’s my latest foodie idea from Pinterest.   Baked Garlic Cheesy Cauliflower.   Sounds good, huh?

If you have been reading any of my other posts, you know I usually modify the recipe to fit either what I have available in the cabinet or whatever I think sounds good that day.   Today, I had fresh-from-my-CSA-box cauliflower, roasted garlic and basil.

I decided that adding butter (as called for in the recipe) was just over the top since there is already two kinds of cheese.   For me, this will be cheddar and parmesan.    The roasted garlic was all velvet-y with olive oil so I’m thinking that it will be the right touch for moisture.   Then, I sprinkled the whole thing with a pretty liberal dose of Montreal Steak Seasoning.   This stuff is pretty salty but it is mmmmm, mmmm good.   The basil was just bling.  (As it turns out, though, there are several recipes for basil and cauliflower together on Pinterest.   Expect to see a return of this duo soon.)


Bake in the oven, covered, at 350 degrees for about twenty minutes.


Wow — this was so good!   My husband went literally crazy for it.   And, my three year old even tried it.   Yes.   He ate cauliflower — I’m proud.    Tonight’s dinner also included some pork chops and southern-cornmeal fried squash.   No instructions necessary, milk and egg wash/dip in cornmeal for the squash and then, get your southern on and fry, baby, fry!

We will be having this for dinner again.

7 responses

  1. oh man! Those dishes looks amazing. I may or may not have a slight addiction to pinterest. It’s jammed packed with so much good stuff 🙂

    Come and add this link to this week’s CSA Link party when you get a chance…http://inherchucks.com/2012/08/02/whats-in-the-box-37/. Looking forward to having you there!

    August 2, 2012 at 8:50 am

    • I know, right? It’s almost worse than Facebook or WordPress …

      August 2, 2012 at 4:25 pm

      • almost…I’m pretty hooked on wordpress 🙂

        August 2, 2012 at 5:21 pm

  2. I have been seeing so many references to pintrist lately, but still haven’t checked it out… Now I’m almost scared to, cuz it sounds so good!

    August 2, 2012 at 1:03 pm

  3. That looks soooo delicious! My mouth just may be watering now… 🙂

    August 3, 2012 at 5:17 am

    • It was shockingly good. I’m really glad that I tried it. Changed cauliflower for me, totally!

      August 3, 2012 at 1:59 pm

Leave a Reply

