Gettin' fresh … in Northern Nevada

Pick a Peck of Pickled Peppers

I loved the refrigerator pickles that I made a while back.   (See HERE)   They were just plain snack-tastic.   And, as the end of the CSA week is coming, I was starting to panic that I had not used my pickling cucumbers or the peppers.   I have been freezing stuff like a maniac so why not join the canning revolution?

Romanian Peppers

Pickling Supplies

I opted to cut them into rings. I don’t know why.  I tried to keep the seeds out but I don’t think a couple of them will ruin the batch.

I love jars.

I had enough cucumbers for a decent sized jar as well. This is seriously easy and kinda fun.

All ready for the fridge to cool for a couple of days.

6 responses

  1. You are the pickling queen!

    Come and link up this post to the party when you get a chance…http://inherchucks.com/2012/08/02/whats-in-the-box-37/. See you there 🙂

    August 4, 2012 at 7:01 am

    • I’m going to the store this weekend for dill supplies. My hubs feels left out because he doesn’t like the bread&butter variety that I am just snarfing away at right now!

      August 4, 2012 at 5:44 pm

      • And I prob wouldn’t be able to tell the difference. Shows how much I know 🙂

        August 4, 2012 at 6:16 pm

      • I love pickled stuff. Period.

        August 4, 2012 at 10:13 pm

  2. Mark

    try this with peppers

    1. Roast/grill the peppers
    2. Remove the skins and the seeds. (I find that sticking them in a tupperware box for 10 minutes after roasting/grilling helps the skin to come off easily).
    3. Fill a jar up to the top with the peeled/deseeded peppers (once they’ve cooled enough to handle, of course).
    4. Put 0.5 litres of vinegar, 2 litres water, 100ml oil, 2 tablespoons of honey (or 3 tablespoons of sugar), 2.5 tablespoons of salt, some peppercorns, some mustard seeds, some allspice corns, and 5 bay leaves into a large pot and bring to the boil. (Note – this’ll make enough to fill quite a few jars, depending how tightly you’ve packed them and the size of the jars – if you’re only doing a couple of jars you might need to scale the quantities down a little).
    5. Once the liquid is bubbling, pour into the jar to the top, wait a few minutes, and top up (as it may have expanded) and then put the lid on.
    6. Stick the jar/s into a very hot oven for 20 minutes. Turn off the oven and leave them in the oven until cool.

    August 23, 2012 at 6:53 pm

Leave a Reply

