Gettin' fresh … in Northern Nevada

Purslane Turkey Tenderloin with Peas and Carrots

Before you get all excited or impressed by my vast knowledge of purslane, I will confess that tonight’s dinner masterpiece was a total cheater.    Technically, I cooked it.   Technically, I have used the specified ingredients.   But, don’t be fooled.  It was too easy to be very gourmet or epicurean or any other ‘chef’ type of word.   This was a complete Rachel Ray short cut move.

  1. Turkey tenderloin ala Costco and Foster Farms, pre-marinated.   All I did was put it on the BBQ and flip it
  2. Carrots and honey in a foil pouch.  Put it on the BBQ.   (That is Fallon, Nevada, honey, though.  Bonus points.)
  3. Repeat with the peas.
  4. I chopped up some purslane and sprinkled it on the turkey.
  5. Done.   Weeknight meal plan–viola!

Now, here’s some stuff you can be impressed by:

Purslane is high in Omega 3 Fatty Acids.   That’s good for you stuff.   Purslane is  a noxious weed that you can eat.   Go figure.   Purslane is most commonly used in salads, kinda like parsley.   And, to me, purslane didn’t really taste like much.   It is just a ‘green’ flavor.   Not like lawn clippings but juicier than parsley, if that makes any sense.

OH.   And, a couple of  other bloggers told me that purslane is common in Greek diets and there was some kind of study out there on interweb machine that indicated a group of people in the Mediterranean somewhere all lived to be well over a hundred and ate purslane everyday.   Hmmm.   There might be something to that one.

5 responses

  1. still looks delicious to me.

    Come and link up to this week’s party…#36 is up and running….http://inherchucks.com/2012/07/25/whats-in-the-box-36/.

    See you there!

    July 26, 2012 at 6:09 am

  2. You did a great job and especially since you used purslane!

    July 26, 2012 at 7:06 pm

  3. I have never in my life heard of purslane. Also my grandma is Greek. Like from Greece. Trur story. Aneeeeway… I love fresh herbs. And real people cheat when they cook. All the time. It still counts. Looks great!!

    July 30, 2012 at 8:03 pm

Leave a Reply

