Gettin' fresh … in Northern Nevada

Armenian Cucumber

Remember this fellow?

image

Mr. Armenian Cucumber was the main guest for dinner this evening.   (Yes, I decided the cucumber was a man.   I don’t know how to explain this.  I just did.)

Anyway, Mr. Cuke needed a proper shave to be presentable for dinner.   I had the wrong lens on the camera to show the detail but he was slightly fuzzy, not smooth like a regular cucumber.

image

No seeds on the inside.   But, there was an interesting pattern on the interior, kind of like a star fruit.

But, after sampling (and really over-thinking what a cucumber might be if it was from Armenia), I discovered that is just tastes like a cucumber.   That’s OK.   That’s how I like them!

I decided to use my purple basil and lemon basil with some tomatoes to make a quick side salad for dinner.

image

Balsamic vinegar and feta cheese joined the party and it was a lovely summer event.   No real recipe again, just add balsamic vinegar to taste.   I like a lot.   My husband likes to add some salt and a sprinkle of olive oil but I just go with vinegar.   There is no wrong way in our kitchen.

And, because we are truly carnivores at heart, my hubby decided to try the recipe that is on the side of the Hidden Valley Ranch (dry mix) packet for our main dish, BURGERS.   Basically, add the mix to your hamburger meat with some grated cheddar cheese and some pepper.   Charbroil to your liking …

Then, we were feeling particularly fancy this evening, so I used arugula for the burgers.  This was a nice hearty (and peppery) green for the burgers and, honestly, was a superb compliment to the salad.

My tummy is happy.

I am wondering if Armenians eat these cucumbers and think American cucumbers are weird.   Silly.  Hmmm.

3 responses

  1. Cool- we were curious to see what they were and how they tasted…

    July 24, 2012 at 3:44 am

  2. Coolest cucumber I have ever seen 🙂 Thanks for sharing! Come and link up when you get a chance…http://inherchucks.com/2012/07/19/whats-in-the-box-35/. Looking forward to seeing you there!

    July 24, 2012 at 5:14 am

Leave a Reply

