Gettin' fresh … in Northern Nevada

What The Heck is THAT?! Week #2 of the Summer CSA

I am always excited to go pick up the weekly box of goodies from the CSA subscription.   The CSA volunteer was busy helping someone else when I arrived so we didn’t have a chance to do our normal giddy (“ooooh look”) session and share recipe ideas.   I scooped up my box and did the swap to my milk crate in order to take it home.   And, then, I waited for a moment to interrupt and grab my fruit share.   I just folded the newsletter into the bottom without noticing the instructions but I definitely saw some foreign greenery.   Definitely something different going on this week … can you see it?

What the heck is THAT?!

My mom called me in the car on the way home to ask what this week’s goodies are … she doesn’t live here so I think she likes to see the pictures of new stuff and gets excited because I’m excited.   I told her there was a long, green, squashy-looking thing I had never seen before in the box.   I now realize how weird that probably sounded over the phone.

But, seriously, what the heck is THAT?!

Thank goodness the CSA box comes with a newsletter.  Or, as I affectionately refer to it, “Instructions.”   The Instructions told me that this is an Armenian Cucumber.   Well.   How about that?   I’ll guess we’ll have to do something fancy with our foreign guest.   Any suggestions?

The other contents this week are:

a boat-load of cherries for the fruit share, zucchini, armenian cucumber, carrots, garlic, shallots, cantaloupe, mustard, arugula, lemon basil, cherry tomatoes and purslane

Wha-purs-who?  I’m feeling pretty veggie-dumb this week.  What’s that?

Thankfully (again) the Instructions included information about this, too.  It is a herb/vegetable thing that has more omega-3 fatty acids than some fish oils!  Whoa.  Mega-super-food ALERT.   Hmmm.   How does that work?  The suggestions are to add the leave to a salad or substitute for lettuce on a sandwich.   Or, when used as a cooked vegetable, the leaves are typically coursely chopped and sauteed with garlic.

 
Have you ever tried an Armenian Cucumber or used purslane?

12 responses

  1. We join you in stumped-town. Never seen or heard of armenian cucumber. Curious to see what you do w/ it…

    July 20, 2012 at 10:08 pm

  2. just thought you may want to know a little bit about purslane…i raed an article years ago about some research done by a group of scientists with a selection of people all over the age of 95 years in greece (this was before the present banking crisis there of course…the poor peeps have probably died out now due to the shock of losing everything cos of the banking collapses there…;)…anyways, it was found that there was one single thing that all of those people did and taht was to eat a portion of purslane daily….

    July 22, 2012 at 7:27 pm

  3. I can not believe all of those cherries! Amazing 🙂 Come and link up when you get a chance…http://inherchucks.com/2012/07/19/whats-in-the-box-35/. Looking forward to seeing you there!

    July 24, 2012 at 6:51 am

  4. Love the smiley face with the veggies

    July 30, 2012 at 3:57 pm

  5. Armenian cucumbers are very popular here in Fresno. Purslane, in my opinion, is a weed better left in the cow pastures where it grows here.

    August 1, 2012 at 3:29 pm

    • I might have to agree with you. It was just ‘eh’ and I totally felt like I was just adding it because it came in the CSA box. I didn’t want to waste it. LOL

      August 1, 2012 at 3:31 pm

      • For the cucumbers, slice & salt. Add to sliced red onions and tomatoes. Sprinke on some fresh parsley We call that summer salad on these parts.

        August 1, 2012 at 4:18 pm

      • Yum!

        August 1, 2012 at 8:01 pm

  6. I love purslane! I was just introduced to purslane this year with my CSA box! It’s great as a simple side salad with a pasta dish. I just posted a breakfast recipe here: http://thehealthyproject.wordpress.com/2012/08/29/purslane-a-breakfast-quinoa-with-apples-and-greens/

    Enjoy the rest of your box!

    August 30, 2012 at 6:04 am

Leave a Reply

