Gettin' fresh … in Northern Nevada

Warm Kale and Potato Tarragon Salad

This recipe is from my CSA’s newsletter and I actually tried to stick to the instructions.   (Miracles never cease.)

2 lbs potatoes, cubed, boiled and kept warm

7 T olive oil

3 shallots, minced

1 bunch of kale, washed well, stems removed and chopped into bite-size pieces

1 clove minced garlic

2 T vinegar

2 T lemon juice

2 T minced tarragon

Saute onions in oil, add kale and garlic until tender; about 5 minutes.  Mix vinegar, lemon juice, tarragon and salt/pepper to taste.  Add kale mix to pototatoes, add dressing and serve warm.

I opted to add some of the roasted garlic that I had saved.   Mmmmm.   Good call.

I like kale more and more every day.  Who knew that the ‘garnish’ on your plate you weren’t supposed to eat would actually turn out to be good for you?

Finished product.   I had a mix of baby yukon gold, russet and purple potatoes that really made a pretty combination with the kale for this salad.

Final opinion:   It was a nice, warm salad and a good way to do something different with kale.   I will make some modifications if I try it again.   The recipe was good but the lemon/vinegar dressing just wasn’t my taste favorite.   My inner carnivore wants to add bacon to this.   (Bacon makes everything better, right??)   I think that if I had used an apple cider vinegar with bacon grease dressing and just a touch of sugar, it would have balanced out the bitter of the kale and added to the savory for the potatoes.   Just my opinion.    Overall, it is good the way it is and I’m glad we tried it!

5 responses

  1. I love your idea for the dressing, I will have to try that combo someday! Never thought of using bacon drippings in a dressing.

    July 16, 2012 at 5:01 pm

  2. This looks delicious 🙂 The perfect side dish for a summer bbq.

    Glad to have you back…missed all your delicious food!

    Come and link up to this week’s party…http://inherchucks.com/2012/07/11/whats-in-the-box-34/. Looking forward to seeing you there 🙂

    July 17, 2012 at 5:28 am

  3. chenamy

    I love kale – Its been my FAVORITE since joining a CSA. I’m definitely going to try this!! If you like potatoes and kale as much as I do, take a look at my post about Potato and Kale cakes…yum! http://blackgirlslikeveggies.wordpress.com/2012/07/15/i-cant-get-enough-of-you-kale/

    July 18, 2012 at 4:19 pm

    • 🙂 That’s the post that brought me to your blog the very first time. I’m a fellow kale addict. LOL

      July 18, 2012 at 8:47 pm

Leave a Reply

