Gettin' fresh … in Northern Nevada

Nice Melons

When I saw these melons in my CSA box this week, I knew what I was going to do with them … make Sunday breakfast extra special.   (And, by the way, those cherries are AWESOME!)

First things first.   Please take special note of that darn cute cantaloupe.   It is no ordinary fruit.  It is a Fallon, Nevada, Heart of Gold Cantaloupe.   You have not lived until you know the sweet goodness that is a HOG Cantaloupe.  Nope, I’m not sharing.  Get your own.

Now, put on your Food Investigator Hat and answer me one question:   What is a Sun Jewel melon?

Don’t cheat and Google it.   And, don’t just tell me “that yellow-striped thing in the picture.”

Have you ever even heard of one before now?    Well, I had no clue.  No idea at all.

This pretty little melon is roughly the size of a cantaloupe but definitely more oblong.   The CSA newsletter said it would be kind of like a honeydew melon.  So, I cut it up just like the cantaloupe and figured it would make a nice little salad.

It was pretty ripe and soft.   This seemed like a lot of seeds but the peel was pretty thin (more like a cucumber) so there wasn’t much waste.

Chop, chop, chop.  (Sample … mmmm)  Chop, chop, chop.

They were right.   The Sun Jewel is like a honeydew but I would give it a lighter, fresher feeling.   Like a cross between a cucumber and a honeydew if that makes sense.   It was the perfect match to the super sweet HOG cantaloupe.

What did you have for breakfast today?

2 responses

  1. I had pancakes but if I had your melons, I’d’ve eaten those instead! They look divine!

    July 15, 2012 at 8:53 pm

Leave a Reply

