Gettin' fresh … in Northern Nevada

The Start of Summer Subscription and a Cherry Situation

This week marks the start of the summer subscription through my local CSA program.   It was nice to have a break for a week but I missed my fresh veggies.   Here’s a group shot of my fine, fresh produce:

image

What’s going on in there?   Zucchini, cucumers, carrots, braising mix, chard, garlic, purple ruffle basil, kale, yellow cherry tomatoes, arugula, shallots and mustard greens.   Yum!

I had to spotlight a few because they are so beautiful all close up and personal.

The first tomatoes of the year:
image

Not to outshine the bigger, bolder carrots that are very dear to my heart:
image

Wha-wha-what??!  Purple ruffle basil?   Oh, this is going to get some good lovin’ with a balsamic vinegar shot and the possibility of mozzarella/tomato on the back!
image

And, TADA!, it’s also fruit season!   It’s early for Nevada so I wasn’t really sure what to expect.   There’s a canteloupe (My little boy is already eyeing this one for breakfast.), a big ol’ bag of cherries (including the ever spectacular RAINIER variety) and a sun jewel melon.

image

What on earth is a sun jewel melon?   I have no clue.   I’ll let you know when I cut into this bad boy.   But, for the time being, the newsletter describes it as “much like a honeydew.”   We’ll see … won’t we?

image

Last but, not least, I just wanted to focus on these shallots and the garlic.   Nom nom nom.   I’m thinking about doing something special with them.   Maybe a sauce or baked thing or just something new.   Any suggestions?

image

And, on a final note, there was a little bit of drama this week going down in the Whole Foods parking lot.   Apparently, several people were a little miffed by the quantity of veggies and, in particular, the fruit share.   Technically, the canteloupe and the sun jewel were in the veggie box.   The cherries were the fruit share.   Now, to be fair, that’s a 4 pound bag of cherries.   Rainier cherries go for $6-8/pound at the regular store.   So, let’s just ballpark it that I received a $25 bag of cherries in my share.   The share costs $22.50 per week.   Fair enough.   Now, would I have blown my whole wad on a bag of cherries?   Probably not.   I was willing to accept that cherries are what’s in season and that was a good amount of cherries.   Other subscribers did not feel the same.   And, many voiced their opinions.  So much so that the CSA Program sent out an email to everyone this morning clarifying the whole cherry situation … whoa …now it’s serious.

“The share size is based on the seasonality of fruit at Kelly Orchards. It will be light the first few weeks when cherries are the main fruit available, and quantities will increase as the season progresses and stone fruits are harvested (peaches, nectarines, plums, etc.). Over the 10-week period, you will receive the full value that you have paid. Cherries were the only fruit available this week. Rather than load members up on too many cherries that might go to waste, the farm provided a bag of what they considered a good amount for a family to consume. Yes, there are those of us who can never get enough cherries!  This is the second year that Kelly Orchards has provided fruit for our CSA. They received rave reviews last year with lots of repeat customers this summer. We are confident that you will be more than satisifed with your fruit share”  Great Basin Basket CSA

I get it.   I will wait patiently for the variety that summer and fall have to offer.    And, I will enjoy my cherries.   I freakin’ love cherries!

9 responses

  1. dang! the shit is going down in the whole foods parking lot! got to hand it to nevada! god i miss that place 🙂

    July 13, 2012 at 7:54 pm

    • Maybe that’s where we should have lunch when you are here. All the cool kids are doing it. 🙂

      July 13, 2012 at 9:40 pm

  2. severely jealous of that huge bag of cherries! I happen to be one of those people who can never eat enough cherries, but the people that ere complaining are being a bit ridiculous…

    Come and link up this post when you get a chance…http://inherchucks.com/2012/07/11/whats-in-the-box-34/. Nice to have you back!

    July 14, 2012 at 5:24 am

  3. Cherries look great although I also love the yellow cherry tomatoes. I have a hard time getting them into any dish as we eat them early!

    July 14, 2012 at 1:48 pm

    • My husband cooked up ALL of the tomatoes in a seriously garlicky sauce. At first, my greedy heart was crushed but then I realized how yummy the tomatoes tasted and just enjoyed the fact that someone else made a fantastic dinner. 🙂

      July 15, 2012 at 2:47 pm

  4. thanks! great web site. thank you for the information this site is amazing. very well developed with great information.http://www.dominiodisponivel.net

    July 15, 2012 at 4:25 pm

  5. Pingback: Cherries, Cherries, Cherries! « Fresh Veggies in the Desert

Leave a Reply

