Gettin' fresh … in Northern Nevada

Refrigerator Pickles

I found a cool little website called Heritage Recipes the other day and what I liked most about it was that the whole point of sharing your recipes is that they are family traditions or remind you of someone special.   Even though I don’t know Mrs. Louvenia Burroughs, I have a feeling that there is something special about her recipe for Refrigerator Bread and Butter Pickles.    And, look at her picture, doesn’t she just look like she would be a good cook?   I thought so.

So, here’s my attempt:

There weren’t that many cucumbers in the CSA box this week so I figured that this was a good experiment.   If I hate this recipe or fail, I’m really only ruining a few cukes.

My family always puts some white onion in the pickle mix.   When it’s done right, they turn out sweet, crunchy and yummy.

The recipe was pretty basic.  No major cooking or canning experience required.   Dissolve some sugar, vinegar and spices together and add cucumbers.   That’s it.

I was a little bit afraid of the canning process but … after reading Mrs. Wheelbarrow, Punk Domestics and Food in Jars, I think I can do it!

Now, I just need wait about 24 hours before I can do a taste test.   Willpower and patience are not skills that I am known for …

Do you have any heritage recipes that are part of the history of your family?   Better yet.   Have you ever made refrigerator pickles?

5 responses

  1. What a cool idea for a website! Thanks for introducing me to it. Looking forward to hearing how the pickles turn out 🙂

    Come and link up when you get a chance…http://inherchucks.com/2012/06/20/whats-in-the-box-31/.

    June 25, 2012 at 5:01 am

    • I managed to wait an entire day! I will be taste testing tonight.

      June 25, 2012 at 6:58 pm

      • nice self control 🙂

        June 26, 2012 at 6:12 am

      • I was impressed with myself … until I tried them. They were perfect! I nearly ate the whole jar with dinner last night. HAHA!

        June 26, 2012 at 1:54 pm

      • sounds amazing! Here’s to hoping I get some pickling cucumbers…and then I can eat the whole jar 🙂

        June 26, 2012 at 2:58 pm

Leave a Reply

