Gettin' fresh … in Northern Nevada

What’s in the Box? Week Nine of the CSA Spring Subscription

image

Oh sweet lord of the veggies … you heard my prayers.   There is a new mushroom in my CSA box this week!   Can you see it all pretty in its little corsage box?   I can’t wait to get this bad boy home.

Can you believe this is Week Nine already?   Only one more week left of the “Spring Subscription” and then we have a no-box week over the 4th of July.   I’m looking forward to the “Summer” boxes and, of course, THE FRUIT SUBSCRIPTION.   I know a little boy at my house that is pretty excited about that, too.

This week’s box includes:

gourmet lettuce mix, braising mix, carrots, green garlic, swiss chard, beets, basil, zucchini, cucumbers, broccoli, arugula and (aaaa-AAAA-AAAAAHHH!) a box of Hiratake mushrooms from Sierra’s Edibles.   I haven’t been out to the Sierra Edibles Farm but it might be worth the drive to Wellington, NV, to check it out … Google that one.   Wellington is in the boonies!

Cucumbers!  Yum!    Once again, I was ridiculously giddy when I picked up the CSA box and the volunteer indulged me by sharing her veggie stories.   Apparently, she is a big fan of lemon cucumbers, too.   (Seriously, I have found my people here.   I LOVE LEMON CUCUMBERS!)   And, when my eyes lit up, she confirmed that there were lemon cucumbers in the CSA boxes last year.   OHMYCUKES!   I can’t wait.

image

Broccoli!  There is a really tasty looking recipe for a chicken broccoli stuffed bread that I am thinking that will suit my family just fine.   Nom.

image

Any one love cucumbers and broccoli as much as me?    Any good recipes you are dying to share?   I love all of the comments and feedback that people have posted so let me know!

9 responses

  1. Lemon cucumbers are the best! My cousin grows them in her garden and often shares a whole boatload with me 🙂

    Looks like another delicious week of veg! And I might love cucumbers and broccoli as much as you.

    As far as recipes this week…too many to choose from…here’s a link to my recipes page…peruse at your leisure 🙂 http://inherchucks.com/recipes/. Lots of beet, zucchini and carrot recipes…more sweet than savory…but then again, I love it when veggies get naughty by showing up in baked goods!

    Come and link up when you get a chance…http://inherchucks.com/2012/06/20/whats-in-the-box-31/. Looking forward to seeing you there 🙂

    June 23, 2012 at 5:19 am

    • We might have to work out a trade for those cucumbers!

      June 23, 2012 at 4:57 pm

      • Ah hah! Does that mean I get one of your amazing salads? 🙂

        June 24, 2012 at 4:51 am

      • If I can figure out a way to get it to you, absolutely!

        June 25, 2012 at 7:05 pm

      • Ill work on that 🙂

        June 26, 2012 at 6:10 am

  2. I do a roasted broccoli that even the non-veggie lovers in our family request. http://myyummylocallife.wordpress.com/2010/01/10/roasted-broccoli/

    June 24, 2012 at 1:21 pm

  3. fluffybuttfarms

    What do you do with your lemon cucumbers? I’ve never been a big cucumber person except for pickles but I’m trying to broaden my horizons 🙂 We got many lemon cukes last year in our CSA so I expect more this year.

    June 25, 2012 at 11:26 pm

    • Pretty much the same thing as regular cucumbers. They are pretty rare here so it just makes them a special treat. 🙂

      June 26, 2012 at 1:59 pm

Leave a Reply

