Gettin' fresh … in Northern Nevada

Waste Not, Want Not

This week has been pretty hectic. All of that prep that I did on Sunday for lunches was worth it because I definitely would not have had time to do it on any other day. Swim lessons (and road construction) are keeping us from getting home until almost 8 o’clock. And, at my house, that’s bedtime for the Little Dude … okay, and sometimes me and Daddy, too!

That has killed any free time I might have had to be creative with the rest of my CSA share this week. I mean, who has the energy to make chard, turnips and beets interesting after 8 pm?? Really!?

So, this morning, I realized that tomorrow is CSA day and my fridge is still full from last week.   See the problem?

Then, I rememberd that I have a full list of friends that have been commenting on this blog and/or what the whole CSA thing is like.   Why not just share?    That eliminates the food guilt that I was starting to have because I didn’t just want to waste all of this goodness.   (not to mention the cold, hard cash that I spent on it)

I sent a full bag of goodies to a friend that works at my husband’s office.   Even if she doesn’t use them all, the guilt has been transferred to her and I can feel good that I didn’t waste them.  (ha ha ha)

And, now, I have to figure out how to pick up my CSA box and keep it all from getting gross in the trunk of my car while we are at swimming lessons tomorrow.

I’m thinking ice packs and a cooler bag.   Wish me luck.

Any suggestions?   Any volunteers who want in on the share for this week?   I’m pretty sure we are going to have the same amount leftover next week.

Oh!   Maybe, I’ll just give it to that guy creeping on the CSA chicks at Whole Foods.   Wait.   He might think I want his attention.   Maybe, not.

 

4 responses

  1. I would love to take advantage of that nice offer but sadly, I live way too far away. I think that’s a great solution 🙂

    June 13, 2012 at 8:52 pm

    • My coworkers turned up their noses at the offer. They do not know what they are missing.

      June 14, 2012 at 3:30 pm

  2. Great idea to share! I often give produce to my babysitter.

    June 15, 2012 at 5:37 am

Leave a Reply

