Gettin' fresh … in Northern Nevada

Oh, SNAP! It is Week 7.

This is getting seriously green people. The goodies list for Week 7 includes:

image

Tango Lettuce
Blood Beets
Fennel
Purple Top White Globe Turnips
Green Shallots
Green Garlic
Chard
Arugula
Snap and Snow Peas
Garlic Chives
Braising Mix

My fridge is full!

Last week, I thought it was interesting that someone else commented on what’s in the box and groaned about the greens.

This week, there was a guy lurping around the gal that is in charge of checking your name off of the list. At first, I didn’t pay much attention but he start to chat me up while I was loading up my stuff and I quickly picked up on his vibe.

He was using the line, “Hey, Baby. Wanna trade some veggies?” to get all of the CSA chicks to talk to him. Or, maybe, he was really just bored with the greens, too.   Either way, I was clueless to being picked up over veggies so I thought it was pretty funny.

He was sitting on the ground by boxes of veggies.   Not exactly sexy.

I asked if he wanted to trade something of mine for his snap peas. No way. He was trying to swap his turnips for my peas. OH, SNAP! Bad trade.

He was only moderately cute so, definitely, no deal.

Then, I started to notice something else … my CSA spot is Whole Foods. It’s cute and trendy.

image

There is an outdoor courtyard to sit and chat.

image

Holy crap! This is the single bar for healthy people. I am married and have a 3 year old. I had no idea. This place is chock full of beautiful people. I wonder how many hook ups start here? I think I have a secret desire to people watch here for an afternoon and see what’s really going down in Whole Foods parking lot.

In case you don’t already know … I always get this song stuck in my head at Whole Foods.   It now means a whole different thing.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2UFc1pr2yUU

5 responses

  1. love the story…I wouldn’t have accepted the trade either 🙂

    Come and link up when you get a chance! http://inherchucks.com/2012/06/06/whats-in-the-box-29/

    June 9, 2012 at 4:01 am

    • I went back for lunch with a friend of mine. She didn’t seem that impressed with the singles selection. I think she might be too picky. LOL

      June 9, 2012 at 1:13 pm

  2. Yes, Whole Foods is the pick up spot for healthy people who don’t drink! I’ve seen a bit of this at my Whole Foods, but I’m usually there are 9 in the morning so it’s more of the retired folk and the mommies with toddlers.

    As for your boxes, you certainly get a lot of produce. Perhaps, though, you are paying more than I do. This week was chard, green beans, lettuce, onion, cucumber, peaches, carrots, and zucchini. We always get lettuce and carrots. Those are major crops for the farm.

    June 13, 2012 at 4:50 pm

    • Who knew Whole Foods was so happenin? LOL This ‘spring’ subscription for my CSA is $27 a week. It’s a little expensive but kind of worth it? The fruit subscription isn’t until later and is additional. I want to try it this year but $$$ might be a factor.

      June 13, 2012 at 5:16 pm

      • Our csa is year round, $15 a week. Summer fruit is additional $180 for 12 weeks. Definitely a good deal.

        June 13, 2012 at 6:03 pm

Leave a Reply

