Gettin' fresh … in Northern Nevada

Dried Herbs

Well, in my excitement to eat leafy greens, I have failed to mention that I am starting my effort to preserve every last bit of goodness that arrives in my weekly CSA share. 
(TODAY IS THURSDAY!  That means new veggies in a box this afternoon!!  But, I digress … )

image

This is a shot of the thyme and parsley drying away on paper towels.  I saw a cool segment on the Food Network where Alton Brown used air filters and a box fan to dry herbs but that seemed kinda complicated in comparison to some counter space and time when you live in as dry of a climate as I do.

I added the fennel to this process today.  I didn’t realize that I only received the greens from the fennel last week and no bulbs.   I think the bulbs will be more useful in the recipes that everyone shared with me.  Maybe, next week.

Have you tried your hand at drying herbs?  How did it go?

4 responses

  1. great idea! I am going to have to try this. Come and link up and share with the rest of the party…http://inherchucks.com/2012/06/06/whats-in-the-box-29/.

    June 7, 2012 at 11:47 pm

  2. Yes, I have dried them and should have this year as my parsley is failing in this heat. I tie them up and hang them – not sure it improves anything but it looks cool.

    June 9, 2012 at 3:54 pm

    • Good point — nice idea!

      June 10, 2012 at 4:24 am

Leave a Reply

