Gettin' fresh … in Northern Nevada

Week Six

Oops.   Somehow, I deleted the picture that I took of my CSA Box O’ Veggies this week before I washed and put them all away.   Darn it.

This week was pretty much just green stuff so imagine a lot of this in bags in a box:

The official list includes:   tango lettuce, spinach, beets, fennel, braising mix, chard, turnips, kale, green onions, arugula and a mix of snap and snow peas.

There was a guy at the CSA pick up location that had a classic reaction to the Box O’ Green and I just have to share it.   “Oh.  It’s all greens.  When will we get something else?”   Ha ha.

I thought this was funny because the point of the CSA subscription for me was that you would be getting whatever fresh veggies are growing on the farm.   It’s not the same as shopping at your grocery store for what you like.   Clearly, he didn’t get the memo.

So, in case you are wondering, I will probably be seeing green for a while longer.   The growing season here in Nevada just started and a lot of the variety that I have seen in the box until now was because of the greenhouses and hoop houses that the farm is using.  The weather has been pretty cold until now so I might not see tomatoes until July and definitely no squashes until at least August.

I did get an awesome fennel recipe from In Her Chucks for Braised Pork with Orange and Fennel.  This is looking like a mandatory food for the weekend.   Yum.

And, I might brave a green smoothie concoction of some sort — if I can find a recipe that doesn’t sound like it is going to be the equivalent of drinking lawn clippings.   Wish me luck.

4 responses

  1. Luck!

    June 1, 2012 at 5:56 pm

  2. You are inspiring me to find a csa for next year (it’s too late now)! I love fennel but have never prepared it myself. That recipe sounds good!

    June 1, 2012 at 9:10 pm

    • I love it! I have been having a lot of fun with it. Thanks.

      June 1, 2012 at 10:39 pm

  3. This green smoothie sounds delish! http://ashleybarnas.wordpress.com/2012/05/25/masking-swiss-chard-in-my-first-green-smoothie/.

    Let me know how the pork comes out. It’s one of our favorites around here. My only complaint? It is gone too fast!

    Come link up when you get a chance 🙂 http://inherchucks.com/2012/05/31/whats-in-the-box-28/.

    June 2, 2012 at 2:44 am

Leave a Reply

