Gettin' fresh … in Northern Nevada

Un-Beet-Able Turnips

Allrighty … here’s to the turnip challenge.   I have to admit that I have been a little lazy in attempting any creativity in this area because I wasn’t very excited about turnips in general.

I have had success and am so glad to share it with you!  Welcome to tasty turnip heaven.

image

Really?  Turnips?  Oh, ya.  Just wait … it gets better … I combined them with beets.  I know, I know.  Please contain your excitement.  This is serious root vegetable overload.

image

I kept seeing roasted turnip recipes online and already knew how great beets are when roasted so I thought this might make for a nice combination.  And, I added in a quick trick.

Listen carefully.  Par boil turnips for about 20 minutes, whole, before you do anything with them.  This will take some of that bitter dirt taste that has given turnips a bad rap in the past.  I did the same for the beets (but not as long) just to soften them up and not take too much flavor away from them.

image

I think the beet slices were so pretty.  I love that color.

I decided to just bake them both together with a little bit of grated cheese to bind them.  I left them as layers just because of the colors.

image

I sprinkled a tiny amount of balsamic vinegar on the beets.  It turned out to be sweet perfection.

image

Next time, I think I will make a butter roux or some kind of gravy because it needed a little sumthin’ extra.  But, keep it simple because the flavors here were awesome all on their own. Hearty goodness. Yum!  This was solid comfort food.

image

Would you like to try a bite?

2 responses

  1. Wow! Those look amazing! Come and link up and share this goodness with the rest of the party 🙂 http://inherchucks.com/2012/05/31/whats-in-the-box-28/.

    May 31, 2012 at 7:43 pm

  2. Heya! I’m at work surfing around your blog from my new iphone! Just wanted to say I love reading through your blog and look forward to all your posts! Keep up the outstanding job

    June 10, 2012 at 10:24 am

Leave a Reply

