Gettin' fresh … in Northern Nevada

Greens Casserole

Here’s another cold weather camper idea that worked to warm up some tummies as well as the travel trailer …

In an effort to use more greens, I decided to try a casserole side dish.  It was sort of like a cornmeal, cheesy, greens bake more than anything. 

If you have read any of my other posts, I am not much of a recipe gal but I am making an effort to keep better track of things.  I don’t think this is a special skill.  It really means that anyone can experiment with the foods they like and make tasty goodness.  This strategy is, however, not without error.

image

I used an 8 oz. package of cornbread mix, 8 oz. of biscuit mix, 3 eggs, 1/3 cup of oil, a sprinkle of garlic powder, salt, pepper, a cup of salsa, cup of grated cheddar cheese and a huge pile of chopped mixed greens.  Mix together and pour into a well greased casserole pan.  Bake at 350 for about 30 or so.

image

This casserole looked good, smelled and tasted pretty good.  But, it was a little blah.  I think next time I might do it tamale pie style over some ground beef.  It just needed a little something extra to be a home run.  Better luck next time.

Have you had any luck with your greens casseroles?

3 responses

  1. Kalli and Bill

    sharlea this looks fabulous! do you think eating more veggies is making you feel good?

    May 30, 2012 at 3:03 pm

    • I think the butter and cheese that I add to everything probably counteracts the healthy benefits of the veggies. LOL But, it has made a difference in our diet and I am having a lot of fun with it.

      May 30, 2012 at 3:06 pm

  2. Spot on with this write-up, I really suppose this web site wants far more consideration. I’ll most likely be once more to read far more, thanks for that info.

    May 31, 2012 at 6:51 pm

Leave a Reply

