Gettin' fresh … in Northern Nevada

Rhubarb Pineapple Upside Down Cupcakes

Oh, ya. Cupcakes! And, I can technically feel good about these because I used my CSA rhubarb in them. Woot woot! I got the idea from a Pinterest post somewhere and then the CSA newsletter had a similar idea.

We went camping this weekend and I decided that this would just be a de-luxe super treat in camp.

It rained and snowed and was cold and miserable. Bleck. But, these cupcakes were warm and soft and sweet. Nom.

image

I cheated a little bit and used a Duncan Hines pineapple cake mix. Sue me.

I cut up the rhubarb into pretty thin slices (like celery) and par boiled them so they wouldn’t be too crunchy in the cupcakes. No extra sugar, I could smell the rhubarb so I knew that they would be sweet enough all by themselves. Then, I just added it in with the cake mix.

Wait.

Hold on to your cupcake liners. You will want them but wait until after … Just trust me.

I was worried about sticking so I sprayed the muffin tins with a generous amount of Pam. I had planned on adding one slice of canned pineapple to each spot in the pan but they were way too big so I cut them in half. This worked out because there would have been too much batter left over otherwise. I also used the pineapple liquid from the can instead of the water called for in the mix.

And, of course, a maraschino chery in each cupcake. Bake at 350 for about 30.

Viola!

image

These little beauties came out of the pan nicely and then I put them in cupcake liners for a cute presentation. Whaddya think? Do you want to go camping with us now?

And, yes, they were as yummy as they look. Plus, the camper smelled awesome while they were cooking. It turned out to be an excellent rainy day treat.

11 responses

  1. Kalli and Bill

    Oh my these look amazing! So sorry about the crappy weather 😦

    May 29, 2012 at 12:47 am

    • Thanks. They were totally good. And, ya, the weather was a total bummer.

      May 29, 2012 at 3:59 am

  2. Nothing wrong with cake mix! My kids prefer it (even though I try to get them to like the home made stuff!). Way to veggify dessert!

    May 29, 2012 at 12:51 am

    • I had a couple of rhubarb haters that said they ‘didn’t’ suck.’. Good compliment. LOL

      May 29, 2012 at 4:01 am

  3. Box mixes are my ultimate go to…why recreate the wheel? Dunkin Hines does a great job 🙂

    Come link up to this week’s party! http://inherchucks.com/2012/05/24/whats-in-the-box-27/.

    Welcome home 🙂

    May 29, 2012 at 4:58 am

  4. Cake mix is a good short cut. I bought frozen pie crust this weekend.

    May 29, 2012 at 1:58 pm

    • I love frozen pie crust, too!

      May 29, 2012 at 3:14 pm

  5. Looks way yummy! Go you!

    May 31, 2012 at 5:54 pm

    • That was how I survived camping. Cooking. It was so cold … and boring … since we didn’t really do anything like hiking or kayaking.

      May 31, 2012 at 6:09 pm

  6. Wow, and here I was thinking you baked them at home and brought them with you… Hats off to you! I’m sorry you ended up with rain though. Blah!

    June 19, 2012 at 8:18 am

    • LOL, Thanks. It worked out pretty well … the camper was warm and smelled great. Me and my Little Dude were more than happy to hang out in there.

      June 19, 2012 at 3:23 pm

Leave a Reply

