Gettin' fresh … in Northern Nevada

Week Five

It’s Thursday!    And, bonus, it’s the Thursday before a holiday weekend.   Can I get a woot woot??!!

I am going camping this weekend so this should be an interesting week to use veggies.   (Yes, I remembered to put the salad spinner in the camper.)

This week’s box includes:

Organic Beets, Organic Tango Lettuce

Organic Nevada Lettuce, Organic Turnips, Organic Carrots

Organic Green Onions, Organic Arugula, Radishes

and … drumroll … (get ready, this is a big one) … DRIED MUSHROOMS!    Wha?What?What?!   Yup.   Dried mushrooms from www.sierraedibles.com .

I am learning that every week is a new adventure and the variety away from just salad greens is so much more exciting that it probably should be.   But, then, I am sure that I will miss the greens when it gets too hot for them or if they disappear from the weekly box.

Radishes have been a favorite snacky food of mine since I was a kid.   My grandparents would grow them and eat them with just a sprinkle of salt.   I’m not much for the salt but I do like the crunch of a fresh radish.    Does anyone have any good recipes that spotlight the almighty radish?   You know, outside of the salad variety?

And, ooooh-my-all-that’s-great-about-veggies, I did not expect mushrooms.   Wowzers!

Now, did I mention that I am going camping?   That’s going to put a kink in the normal blog and photofest but … we’ll see how it goes.   It is probably good for me to unplug for a while.

I know today’s post is short but I look forward to seeing lots of comments and recipes when I get back, OK?   Seriously.  OK???    I promise to take lots of pictures and share them when I get back.

5 responses

  1. Kalli and Bill

    oh have a great time camping! so excited for you. yay for 3 day weekends!

    May 24, 2012 at 9:51 pm

  2. Radishes…seems like lots of people are getting those in their boxes lately…here is s recipe that looks scrumptious…http://realfoodrealdeals.com/2012/05/17/avocado-radish-and-arugula-crepes/. And then there is always a good old radish sandwich…open faced! http://coolcookstyle.com/2012/05/21/finnish-ruis-bread-topped-with-sliced-radishes-and-soft-butter/…or http://seasonalsunshine.wordpress.com/2011/11/06/sunday-afternoon-tea-sandwiches/.

    Come link up when you get back…http://inherchucks.com/2012/05/24/whats-in-the-box-27/.

    Enjoy your trip…woot woot!

    May 25, 2012 at 4:05 am

    • Radish sammich! Yum!

      May 29, 2012 at 3:49 am

  3. Let me know how you use the mushrooms! Usually those get rubbery on me but I’m SURE I’m doing something wrong 😉

    May 26, 2012 at 12:31 am

    • I am totally worried about that. I’ll do some homework — we’ll see what happens!

      May 29, 2012 at 7:16 pm

Leave a Reply

