Gettin' fresh … in Northern Nevada

Field Trip to Lattin Farms

Woo hoo!    I took a field trip to visit Lattin Farms in Fallon, Nevada.   This is where the magical veggies in my weekly CSA box are born.   It is about an hour from my house and the area is a mini greenbelt for Nevada.  The fine folks at Lattin Farms host all kinds of events throughout the year.   It is a fun, little farm to visit on almost any day.   And, even when the crops aren’t all going, you can drop by for a quick bite to eat from the country kitchen.

There was a ladies luncheon going on when we stopped by to the visit so the staff were very busy.  After we went inside and asked for permission to wander around for pictures, we were told to make ourselves at home.   It’s a pretty friendly place.   There was a box of freshies on the porch just like my CSA box where I noticed this and I definitely think it shows what kind of family farm it is:

I have a feeling that this plastic jug is rarely ever short of what the sale is supposed to be.   Respect and honor it.  We did.  $4 for some snacks, all good.

It is still very early in the season here in Northern Nevada so there was more going on in hoops and greenhouses than in the ground but it was still pretty fun just the same.   Later in the year, there is a bigger store for all of the produce and a area where I they do events, classes, etc.   My favorite time to visit is actually in the fall for the corn maze.   Stay tuned for that one in October.   Lattin Farms does this up right every year!

In the meantime, here’s what they are growing:

One of the greenhouses … growing most of my greens and other CSA goodies.

Looks like some peppers are getting ready to be transplanted.

A few things are growing in the planter boxes.

And, someone has a sense of humor …

I think most people are surprised to find this happening little green spot in the desert. There are always issues with water and whatnot. But, I love it out here.

My friend Kristen loves these goats. This picture is pretty much just for her.

I didn’t check to see if it was ‘real.’ Ha ha.

If you knew how windy it gets in Nevada, you would respect that this is intact. I wonder what’s hiding in there?

6 responses

  1. Looks like a great visit!

    May 20, 2012 at 4:19 pm

    • Thanks. It’s more fun in the fall but I thought it would be good to add them on here now.

      May 20, 2012 at 6:55 pm

  2. It is nice to see where your green are coming from. Nice post! 😉

    May 22, 2012 at 8:47 pm

  3. Donna

    Such an awesome story, thanks for posting…

    May 25, 2012 at 4:39 pm

    • Lovin’ Lattin Farms!

      May 29, 2012 at 3:50 am

Leave a Reply

