Gettin' fresh … in Northern Nevada

Week Four and a Salad Spinner

The excitement of Thursday’s CSA box hasn’t worn off yet.   I look forward to this day all week!    (Kind of nice to have something exciting to think about rather than the mundane Thursday drive home.)   Here’s this week’s batch of goodies:

What’s in there?   Organic Ovation (everyone stand please) Greens, Carrots (I actually yelled YIPPEE! at the CSA girl when I saw these.  Awkward.), Tango Lettuce, Chard, Green Garlic, Turnips, Cilantro (YUM), Rhubarb (what am I going to do with that?), Kale and … get ready …  Thyme! (if it were only so easy to get extra time, haha)

OK.   First things first, what the heck is a Organic Ovation Green?   Hmmmm … they look like braising greens or most any other greens to me.   According to the handy dandy newsletter, Ovation Greens are a mix of Red Mustard, Mizuna, Tatsoi, Kale and Arugula.   How about a round of applause for that?

The real treat for tonight was my newly purchased salad spinner.   Let me remind you that I thought these things were dumb and I have thrown them away in the past because I never used them.   Tonight, I learned a new trick.   My three year old son showed me how to use it and we laughed and laughed and laughed.

He even just ate lettuce for no good reason.   He’s THREE!  Do you know any pre-schoolers that say “YUM!  Lettuce!”?   I doubt it.

We played with this ridiculous contraption for about an hour.   Just spinning and stopping and munching and spinning and laughing.

I don’t think I could have ever imagined that a stupid salad spinner could bring this much joy.   And, clean, dry lettuce.

8 responses

  1. First things first….your don is ADORABLE! I love that he is enjoying the CSA goodies as much as you. Salad spinners can be a fun activity 🙂

    I have yet to ever receive rhubarb but lots of people in my link party have been making tons of delicious rhubarb treats. I have seen rhubarb punch (http://projectlocaleating.wordpress.com/2012/05/17/rhubarb-punch-5/), rhubarb compote (http://bibliopharm.wordpress.com/2012/05/12/rhubarb-compote-with-honey-maple-syrup-and-tarragon/) and of course, rhubarb pie (http://ashleybarnas.wordpress.com/2012/05/08/strawberry-rhubarb-pie-11/).

    Looking forward to seeing what recipes you come up with this week!

    Come link up…http://inherchucks.com/2012/05/16/whats-in-the-box-26/

    May 18, 2012 at 5:00 am

    • Thanks. He’s my little helper. I have never been a big fan of rhubarb. The CSA newsletter had a recipe for a rhubarb upside down cake. I am thinking about modifying that and seeing what happens. Nom.

      May 18, 2012 at 12:38 pm

      • I think I saw that recipe on the blogosphere somewhere…looking forward to hearing how it turns out 🙂

        May 18, 2012 at 1:15 pm

  2. One more rhubarb recipe I came across…just in case you haven’t embarked on the upside down cake yet…http://realfoodrealdeals.com/2012/05/18/rhubarb-cherry-berry-cobbler/. Looks delish!

    May 19, 2012 at 7:41 am

    • Yum. That’s a keeper. No rhubarb adventures yet. I have a photo safari planned for today. And, a ‘field’ trip out to my CSA farm. 🙂

      May 19, 2012 at 3:21 pm

      • Sounds fun! Enjoy 🙂

        May 19, 2012 at 3:32 pm

  3. rhubarb is super easy to work with and it also freezes really well if you don’t use it all.

    May 19, 2012 at 1:23 pm

    • Good to know that I can freeze it. If I don’t get to it this weekend, I might have to do that because we are going camping next weekend. 🙂

      May 19, 2012 at 3:22 pm

Leave a Reply

