Gettin' fresh … in Northern Nevada

Help! Save the Lettuce!

OK.  I was willing to give in to a little bit of green waste each week but this is ridiculous … Help me keep my lettuce and greens from rusting/browning/just getting all yucky!

image

I try to rinse and dry as well as possible and I usually leave a paper towel in with the greens in the fridge just to get rid of that extra moisture.  But, it is not cutting it.  They are stored in plastic bags.  Good or not good?

I am also heading out to the megalomart today for a salad spinner.  Ugh.  I think those are so silly and I know I have throw one away before because I never used it.  So frustrating.

Any ideas out there in the blogosphere?

Save the lettuce.  The poor, poor lettuce.

5 responses

  1. hmmm….sounds like you are doing all the right things. my lettuce usually lasts a little over a week, if I don’t eat it beforehand…

    a salad spinner is a helpful tool…i actually never had one until I started my CSA because I usually opted for the bag-o-salad…

    you might want to try linking this post up to the link party to see if anyone has any special tips or tricks…http://inherchucks.com/2012/05/10/whats-in-the-box-25/.

    May 16, 2012 at 3:24 pm

  2. One of my link party participants posted this how to guide today…should come in handy 🙂 http://changingmydestiny.wordpress.com/2012/05/16/how-to-extend-the-life-in-your-csa-veggies/.

    May 17, 2012 at 3:55 am

    • ooooh … THANK YOU!

      May 17, 2012 at 3:04 pm

  3. You can also try Debbie Meyer Green Bags (available at BBB and Amazon). They work well on veggies and greens (but maybe less environmentally friendly compared to canning, although the bags are reusable to a point.

    May 17, 2012 at 7:04 pm

    • My mom suggested those. I was having ‘green’ guilt.

      May 17, 2012 at 8:24 pm

Leave a Reply

