Gettin' fresh … in Northern Nevada

Fresh Asparagus and Chicken Casserole

Ya, I cooked dinner for my family on Mother’s Day.  (for shame!)  Don’t worry, I was sufficiently spoiled the rest of the day.

This is what I made:

image

Yummy, cheesy, gooey casserole heaven and I used the fresh asparagus from my CSA box!

The basics of the recipe are:

Grill up two decent size, boneless, skinless chicken breasts.  Cut into bite size pieces.

Bring a big pot of water to a boil and cook a regular size package of egg noodles al dente.

In a separate pan, saute a large scallion that has been finely chopped in some olive oil.  Add a chopped sweet, red bell pepper and two stalks of celery.  Then, mix in two cups of chicken broth.  Add about a pounds of fresh asparagus, in bite size pieces.  Bring to a boil.  Sprinkle some italian seasoning and pepper to taste.  Turn down to low and simmer.  Just before adding to noodles, turn heat off and mix in a pint of sour cream.

Spray a casserole pan with cooking oil and pour in cooked/drained noodles.  Add chicken next.  Then,veggies in cream sauce.  Sprinkle to with grated parmesan cheese.  Bake at 350 until browned, 15 to 20 minutes.

Then, you have this:

image

Mmmmmmm.

image

6 responses

  1. Yum! I would cook on Mother’s Day too if it meant indulging in this delicious dish 🙂 Would love for you to link this up to the party…http://inherchucks.com/2012/05/10/whats-in-the-box-25/.

    Happy Mother’s Day!

    May 14, 2012 at 2:12 am

  2. I ended up not cooking but wouldn’t have minded as I like the cadence of the kitchen.

    May 14, 2012 at 1:00 pm

    • Comforting, isn’t it? 🙂

      May 14, 2012 at 2:55 pm

  3. Kalli and Bill

    this looks so freakin delicious! i am so glad you had a great moms day….we got plane tickets to reno for august! this time let’s get together. on another note, my day died this weekend 😦

    May 14, 2012 at 2:22 pm

    • Oooh. I went from YAY to noooo within milliseconds on this comment. Sorry to hear about your dad. I so completely understand. {hug}

      May 14, 2012 at 2:53 pm

  4. Hello, i think that i noticed you visited my web site thus i got here to go back the want?.I’m attempting to to find things to improve my site!I guess its adequate to use some of your ideas!!

    May 21, 2012 at 1:45 am

Leave a Reply

