Gettin' fresh … in Northern Nevada

Kale Chips

Kale is pretty awesome.  Packed with all kinds of goodness, I am not sure how it got such a bad rap in past years and was delegated to garnish status.  Kale is great in soups, wilted, sauteed with eggs and definitely holds its own in the lettuce/salad category.

image

How does it fare as a crispy, salty snack?  I decided to find out.  I have been checking blogs/websites/my local store and have been tempted by kale on several occasions.  My local store sells little, tiny snack bags of kale for $6 each.  Ouch!  Too rich for my blood.

This week’s CSA was loaded with big bags of greens so I thought I would try a creative use to mix things up a bit.

So, here’s how it goes … Clean, dry and trim kale from the stems/ribs.  Toss with a tiny amount of olive oil. Bake at 300 until crispy but not brown. Easy.   Supposedly, any kind of kale will do.  Pick your favorite or just experiment.

image

I also baked some chard, just for fun.

image

Now, I need to admit that the smell of baked greens and olive oil is bad. It totally grossed me out and smelled like butt.  Not at all appetizing.  Bleck.

Once the air cleared, I was brave enough to try them.  The leaves all turned out just right for crispy and I was careful to not overcook them.  (warning: BITTER)

The chard had a lighter flavor than the kale but the leaves are very thin and delicate.  Very, very delicate.  I saved the chard ribs for another recipe.  Aren’t they pretty?

image

My husband even tried them and said they weren’t bad.  Overall, kale chips are a good way to try something different for your greens.

But, they will never replace potato chips for me.  Not even close.

3 responses

  1. I love kale chips! I agree, they will never replace potato chips but they are a good option 🙂 I would love for you to link this up to the party…http://inherchucks.com/2012/05/10/whats-in-the-box-25/

    May 12, 2012 at 12:51 am

  2. I like kale chips too. But I can’t get my kids to eat them–they are potato purists!

    May 12, 2012 at 1:22 am

    • Ya. I was a fun experiment but I don’t see myself craving them the way I do a salty potato chip snack.

      May 12, 2012 at 3:37 pm

Leave a Reply

