Gettin' fresh … in Northern Nevada

Super Chef Sunday

When I am in the right mood (and have tons of energy), Sunday is the day that I prep as much food for the rest of the week as I can manage.   What I try to do is pack the fridge with easy dinners for the week and lunch ideas to keep us from eating out or having junk food.   I was on it today.   ON IT.   I managed to try three new recipes, clean and prep a ton of veggies and we actually had homemade breakfast, lunch and dinner.   I am SUPER CHEF!   (taaa–daaaa!)

These were the recipes that I wanted to try:

Beer Braised Beef

Stuffed Chard

Spinach Soup

My new blog friend over at http://inherchucks.com/    suggested the beef and chard recipes.   Great tips and a very friendly blog.

And, here are a few shots of how the kitchen chaos went down for the day:

Gathering the ingredients … thankfully, there is no shortage of beer at our house.  The beer braised beef was pretty simple to get going.

This is the ground turkey and fixin’s for the stuffed chard. It smelled soooo good.

The chard is par-boiled and draining. I’m hoping for the best at this point.

It wasn’t easy to stuff and roll these bad boys up, but it wasn’t too hard. The reward will be seen later this week. Yum.

Oh, my buttery creamy goodness. Popeye would love this spinach soup. Nom.

One more shot of the soup. I snarfed it up with chunks of cheesy, hearty sourdough bread. Reward for all of the standing around in the kitchen when it was actually a nice day outside.

6 responses

  1. Kalli and Bill

    Okay this food looks amazing!!!! John is one lucky guy 🙂 love the beer as well!

    May 7, 2012 at 2:42 am

    • John laughed when I took that picture because the beer is old and they have new labels now. The beef came out just fine mmm

      May 7, 2012 at 12:42 pm

  2. You are a super rock star! Can’t believe you got that all done in one day! Looking forward to hearing how you enjoyed everything…that soup looks out of this world! I can’t wait to try it myself 🙂

    May 7, 2012 at 7:38 am

    • I think I pulled a muscle. I am sore. LOL

      May 7, 2012 at 12:41 pm

  3. Super chef and then some. Way to go!

    May 11, 2012 at 3:52 pm

Leave a Reply

