Gettin' fresh … in Northern Nevada

Bonus Dessert — Banana Ice Cream

Did I mention that I was super chef today?   Well, I wasn’t joking!

Now, to be clear, the ingredients in this one don’t include anything from my CSA box.  But, I am so impressed with myself that I just had to share.   (modesty oh my)

I have wanted to try this for a while but today I finally did it!   Homemade banana soft serve ice cream!   Oh, ya.  You read that right.   From freakin’ scratch!

If you have been keeping up for the last week, you will know that I bought a humongous bag of bananas at Costco because my son loves them.   They all decided to be ripe, yesterday.  The way the recipe is supposed to work is that you slice up some bananas and freeze them, then blend until they are like soft serve ice cream.   That just seemed too easy so I was curious.

Then, because bananas love strawberries … I had to do this:

And, I’m not going to lie, the banana blending took a really long time … and I had to add some milk.   So, consider the strawberries a pretty intermission.   But, I did end up with this:

Ooooooh so good. And, almost, guilt-free!   The banana ice cream was a big success.   It was honestly just like banana soft serve.   REALLY.

 

 

One response

  1. Kalli and Bill

    I agree this is incredible and so yummy!

    May 7, 2012 at 2:39 am

Leave a Reply

