Gettin' fresh … in Northern Nevada

Week Two

Maybe it’s just me, but this week’s box seems bigger.   There are a couple of new additions but the portion sizes are a little bit larger.   Yay!    I have been pretty happy so far in my CSA experience.   This just keeps getting better.

I’m pretty excited to see those carrots.   I might not share them this time.

The full list is spinach, braising mix, lettuce, carrots, green onions, arugula, asparagus, beets, turnips, chard and garlic chives.   Any good recipe suggestions?

The weekly newsletter gave some nice tips for keeping the veggies fresh and preparing them.   Good thing … I would hate to waste this green goodness.

I might try this recipe from my main CSA Farm, Lattin Farms from Fallon, Nevada:

Lattin Farms Cream of Spinach Soup

1/2 cup chopped onion, sauteed in butter until tender

1 bag of spinach, shredded into thin pieces

2 cups chicken or vegetable broth

1/4 teaspoon garlic powder

1/4 cup butter

1/4 cup flour

3 cups half and half

Add onion, garlic to spinach and cook just until spinach is slightly tender.  Don’t overcook.  At this time, you can puree half of the mixture if like a chunky soup or puree all of it.  Melt butter in a pan.  Whisk in flour until smooth.  Add half and half and stir until smooth.  Add cream mixture to spinach and heat just until warm.  Do not boil.   Stir constantly.   Enjoy!

5 responses

  1. That is a really big box. Your spinach soup sounds good also. I use a lot of greens in smoothies.

    May 4, 2012 at 12:38 pm

    • I haven’t managed to get into green smoothies yet. I have friends that live on them but … I dunno. Maybe, I need to try a new recipe.

      May 4, 2012 at 6:05 pm

  2. What a beautiful bounty! I love turnips…and this is my favorite recipe…http://www.myrecipes.com/recipe/beer-braised-beef-with-onion-carrot-turnips-10000001924727/. and you can use your carrots too!

    That spinach soup sounds amazing! I think I will have to try this recipe next time.

    Arugula is my favorite lettuce! I like to dress is simply and serve it with some crusted chicken. Hits the spot every time! http://www.epicurious.com/recipes/food/views/Lemony-Chicken-Milanese-with-Arugula-Salad-237101

    I have a yummy stuffed chard recipe that is delicious! http://inherchucks.com/2011/10/08/chard-rocks/

    And a beet cake to die for 🙂 http://inherchucks.com/2011/12/10/beet-cake-with-cream-cheese-frosting/ or chocolate beet muffins…http://inherchucks.com/2012/04/13/chocolate-beet-muffins/…or my husbands favorite…beet fritters: http://www.myrecipes.com/recipe/beet-fritters-10000000257908/.

    I would love for you to link up to my link party and share your CSA goodness…http://inherchucks.com/2012/05/02/whats-in-the-box-24/. Looking forward to seeing you there 🙂

    May 4, 2012 at 3:29 pm

    • Wow — thanks for a great share! The arugula/chicken recipe is going to be a must try! I found that it does go nicely on a simple roast beef sandwich. nom

      May 4, 2012 at 6:02 pm

      • my pleasure 🙂 Let me know how it all works out!

        May 4, 2012 at 8:18 pm

Leave a Reply

