Gettin' fresh … in Northern Nevada

Eehhhh. What’s Up, Doc?

I wish my camera had smell-o-vision.  These carrots are the best smelling little nuggets I have ever sniffed!  Really.  And, the tops are completely gorgeous, don’t ya think?

Today is the last day of my first CSA week and I  thought I better take inventory of what was left.  Some greens and these carrots.  We did a pretty good job eating our veggies this week.  And, we liked it!

My family members are carnivores at heart so we had a flank steak marinating in teriyaki and soy sauce just waiting for the grill at dinner tonight.  My mission was to find a way to finish off the veggies with our meal.  (And, get ready for a whole new box tomorrow!)

My perfect little carrots became the best hot pocket for the grill.  All I did was wrap them up in foil with a little sprinkle of fresh, local honey.

I don’t have enough words to describe how heavenly they were.  Sweet, tender, just a hint of honey-carmelization.  (go ahead and drool)

And, to add to my wonderful feast, I have chard, turnip and beet greens.  I added some (not local) baby bella mushrooms and prepared to wilt them gently with some saved bacon drippings.

Now, here’s where I created some magic.  Listen carefully.

When I was little, my Grammy always made greens in the summer.  She was from the south so greens are there own separate category of food.  And, because she was my Grammy, she made the best greens on the planet.  I called them ‘weeds’ and would beg to have ‘weeds’ for dinner all winter until we could get fresh ones.  They tasted so good.

Tonight, I figured it out.  I figured out how to cook weeds!  I knew it was bacon grease but the secret ingredients that I had missed out on until now are:  APPLE CIDER VINEGAR AND SUGAR.

Dinner made me miss my Grammy so much.  I know she would have been proud of me tonight.  My belly is full of love and good food.

Is there a special recipe you have been trying to figure out?  Maybe, we can find it together.

9 responses

  1. Can’t wait to try the weeds!

    Link party is up! Would love for you to add this post so everyone can try the weeds 🙂 http://inherchucks.com/2012/05/02/whats-in-the-box-24/. See you there!

    May 3, 2012 at 7:12 am

    • Oops. I added the wrong link. Duh. I will definitely stay in the loop. I love the link party idea.

      May 3, 2012 at 3:35 pm

      • thanks Sharlea! Appreciate your participation 🙂

        May 3, 2012 at 3:39 pm

  2. Great meal. I think I could smell your carrots!

    May 3, 2012 at 2:19 pm

    • I hope there are more in this week’s box!

      May 3, 2012 at 8:00 pm

  3. love the idea of grilling carrots with honey! I totally agree about how farm fresh carrots have an amazingly sweet and tender flavor, almost akin to the sweet potato. I like to sautee them with balsamic vinegar and a little butter and brown sugar. YUM!

    May 3, 2012 at 3:06 pm

    • I was surprised they cooked so well. It was about 20 minutes, the same time as to cook the flank steak.

      May 3, 2012 at 3:32 pm

  4. Kalli and Bill

    i am so jealous you are getting a box a week! how much is it costing you? do you feel like you are eating more veggies now?

    May 3, 2012 at 3:25 pm

    • It was $270 for the 10 week spring subscription. $27 a week is probably a little more than we usually spend per week on veggies … maybe, we were at about $20 mark. Definitely more greens than we ate before but we have always liked our veggies so it’s just the difference of eating ‘seasonally.’

      May 3, 2012 at 3:34 pm

Leave a Reply

