Gettin' fresh … in Northern Nevada

From Farm to Table

image

Have you ever wondered how long it took for your regular grocery store produce to get from where it was grown to your table?

I had not given it too much thought until now.  My wonderful CSA greens have the best labels on them.   So much information in such a tiny spot.

They were all packed the day before I brought them home.  Wow.  Just think about that for a second … Let it sink in … The day before!

I did a little bit of an internet search for information and am now quite grossed out about how long things are stored before you eat them.  Yuck.  I now wish my CSA included bananas.  My household loves them and the ones in my kitchen are slightly green but probably  six months old and sprayed with chemicals to keep them from getting ripe.  Gross.

Have any of you ever thought about how long it takes for your food to get you?  Do you know of any good websites with reliable information about it?

2 responses

  1. Kalli and Bill

    there is a a great video on netflix Bill and i watched last week called food fight…..all about this!

    April 30, 2012 at 3:53 pm

    • I will have to check it out! Thanks.

      April 30, 2012 at 4:31 pm

Leave a Reply

