Gettin' fresh … in Northern Nevada

Chard for Breakfast?

Isn’t that the prettiest red for a “green” vegetable?

I guess we are embracing the whole ‘eat your greens’ idea when I am thinking of having chard for breakfast!   Don’t worry, though.  I still added bacon.  And salami.   Totally offset all of the healthy.

This morning was one of those days when you look in the fridge and just throw together what you have … I had some eggs, cheese, a can of pizza dough and a little bit of bacon and salami to add to my chard.   Let’s call it “Breakfast Pizza Quiche.”   No recipe, just throw it together.

Just chop up the green part, we are saving the ribs for another recipe later.

Ready to go in the oven ...

Perfectly done! I baked it at 400 for about 40 minutes. I live at a pretty high altitude so adjust accordingly.

It even smells wonderful ... want some?

4 responses

  1. yes…i would LOVE some! That looks amazing 🙂

    I appreciate your ability to just “throw things together”. I am a strict recipe follower but always wish I could take the risk to try new things…this gives me hope and inspiration! thanks 🙂

    May 1, 2012 at 6:42 am

    • Thanks. I guess that’s how I just learned. I’m horrible with a recipe. LOL

      May 1, 2012 at 1:46 pm

  2. Thanks for liking the garden. Starting my first veggie garden this summer. I should follow your blog.

    May 13, 2012 at 3:23 am

    • Please do. 🙂 Gardening here is a pretty big challenge. Good luck to you in your slice of the planet.

      May 13, 2012 at 3:26 am

Leave a Reply

