Gettin' fresh … in Northern Nevada

The Very First Time

Your first time at anything is always special.   The first time you pick up your CSA box is no different.   I was giddy!   I thought about it all day!   I took pictures!  (Of course, I took pictures.   That’s what I do.)

Anyway, the day has finally arrived and I have my precious Nevada grown veggies.   It’s a good thing my car has a turbo.   I blew the doors off of some unknowing sedan on the freeway trying to get to the Whole Foods parking lot.   Then, I had that silly internet video song stuck in my head for the rest of the experience … “It’s goin’ down in the Whole Foods parking lot” … go ahead, Google it.   It’s worth your time.  I should probably add it to this blog because I think it’s hilarious but that’s not what this blog is.   It’s about Fresh Veggies in the Desert.

And, ya, it does seem kind of weird to pick up a subscription box of locally grown vegetables in the parking lot of a chain grocery store, especially one that has a pretty impressive produce section.  But, hey, whatever.

So.  How was it?

IT WAS AWESOME!   Glitter and rainbows fell out of the box while I was walking back to my car.  And, literally, a unicorn jumped out when I opened the trunk and kissed me on the cheek.   Well, maybe, not that awesome, but it is a pretty cool box of veggies.

And, see this awesomely cute girlie? She was helping check the clipboard for the CSA gal (who bashfully opted to not be photographed). They were both MEGA friendly and not terribly frightened by my excitement.

Here are my veggies loaded up in the trunk. I followed the instructions in my email receipt to bring a container so they can reuse their cardboard boxes.

Are these not the most beautifully packaged and labeled bags of green goodness you have ever seen?

And, BONUS, they came with a newsletter and instructions! Quadruple awesome!

I am going to load more pictures and the newsletter to the Facebook page.

I can’t wait to try all of these greens with new recipes! Oh, ya … I will blog about that, too.

What do you think? Is it all that you had hoped for?

P.S. Do you have any good greens recipes to share?

5 responses

  1. Kalli and Bill

    Yay for your first CSA box!!!! I am so excited for you. And now I can’t wait to hear what you make with all the goodies 🙂

    April 27, 2012 at 3:47 am

    • Now, if I can only figure out what I did to my WordPress mobile app … this blogging thing is WORK! LOL

      April 27, 2012 at 3:18 pm

  2. Everything looks spectacular! Come share at my CSA link party…http://inherchucks.com/2012/04/26/whats-in-the-box-23/. Hope to see you there 🙂

    May 1, 2012 at 6:44 am

    • Fun — I’m on my way!

      May 1, 2012 at 1:45 pm

      • Awesome! Thanks for participating 🙂

        May 1, 2012 at 4:50 pm

Leave a Reply

